University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Charlotte Brown
Tel 03 479 8976
Email charlotte.brown
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Philosophy

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationJSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
Further informationPast Masters (InteLex)
Definitive editions of the writings of key philosophers, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence. Our access includes: Aristotle's Complete Works, British Philosophy 1600-1900 (Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, George Berkeley, David Hume, Francis Bacon, Jeremy Bentham, Edmund Burke, Anne Conway, John Stuart Mill, David Ricardo, Henry Sidgwick, Adam Smith), the Continental Rationalists (Rene Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz), and Locke's Philosophical Works and Select Correspondence.
Further informationPhilosopher's Index (OvidSP)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Further informationProject MUSE
Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
Further informationReligion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
An indexing and abstracting database, with some full-text coverage, of journals on religious history, biblical studies, epistemology, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Further informationRoutledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Coverage includes Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and new links to other editorially reviewed websites.
Public accessStanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Includes entries on such topics as democracy, civil rights, quantum mechanics, consciousness, voluntary euthanasia, and on many other topics important to the human condition, all freely available. Each refereed entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Additional Philosophy databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Blackwell encyclopaedia of political thought 1987 - Cen:Ref JA/61/BL78
  • Cambridge dictionary of philosophy. 2nd ed. 1999 - Cen:Ref B/41/C497/1999
  • The Routledge companion to aesthetics 2001 - Cen:Ref BH/21/RV35
  • A Companion to epistemology 1992 - Cen:Ref BD/161/CQ55
  • A Companion to metaphysics 1994 - Cen:Ref BD/111/CQ55
  • A Companion to the philosophy of mind - Cen:Ref BD/418.3/CQ55
  • Encyclopedia of aesthetics 1998 - Cen:Ref BH/56/EJ7
  • The Encyclopedia of ethics 1992 - Cen:Ref BJ/63/EJ7
  • The Encyclopedia of philosophy (P. Edwards)1972 - Cen:Ref B/41/EJ7
  • Hutchinson dictionary of ideas - Cen:Ref B/41/H212
  • The Oxford English dictionary online
  • Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy 1998 - Cen:Ref/B/51/RV35
  • Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 21 January, 2008

10 July, 2008