University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Sue Weddell
Tel 03 479 7407
Email sue.weddell
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Pharmacy Guide

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationBritish National Formulary (BNF)
BNF includes key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. Medicines generally prescribed in the UK are covered and those considered less suitable for prescribing are clearly identified.
Further informationBritish National Formulary for Children (BNFC)
BNFC provides practical information on the use of medicines in children of all ages from birth to adolescence.
Further informationCochrane Library (Wiley)
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systmatic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationDrugDex
Comprehensive monographs, evidence-based information on 2,300+ drugs. Covers FDA-approved, non-US, OTC, and investigational drugs. Searchable by generic name, brand name, adverse effect, or indications. Includes dosing tools and calculators.
Further informationEMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OvidSP)
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Further informationInternational Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) (OvidSP)
Provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide.
Further informationMartindale(OvidSP)
Access via Books@Ovid. Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationMIMS online
Provides access to up-to-date medicine information including MIMS Quick Reference and MIMS DrugAlert.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Pharmacy databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Drug catalogues -Med:Ref QV 772
  • Drug handbooks -Med:Ref QV 39
  • Formularies -Med:Ref QV 740
  • Medical dictionaries / encyclopaedias -Med:Ref W 13
  • Pharmacopoeias -Med:Ref QV 738
  • Pharmacy dictionaries -Med:Ref QV 13

^ Top of page

Web Sites

 

Last revised: 6 May, 2010