| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject Guides >
Geography (Physical)
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
|  | ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
|  | Biological Sciences (ProQuest) This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
|  | Cold Regions Bibliography 40+ years of materials on the science and technology of the world's cold regions.
|  | GeoRef (ProQuest) Provides access to over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
|  | GeoScienceWorld A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
|  | ScienceDirect Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
|  | Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
|  | Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
|
Additional Physical Geography databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of earth sciences 2nd ed. - Sci:Ref QE 5.DJ19 1998
- Dictionary of ecology 2nd ed - Sci:Ref QH 540.4.CQ78 1998
- Dictionary of ecology, evolution and systematics - Sci:Ref QH 540.4.LQ59 1998
- Dictionary of global climate change - Sci:Ref QC 981.8.C5 ME51
- Glossary of soil science terms - Sci:Ref S 592.GJ52
- Glossary of the mapping sciences - Sci:Ref TA 505.GJ52
^ Top of page
Encyclopedias
- Conservation and environmentalism - Sci:Ref GE 10.CR282
- Cooper's Comprehensive environmental desk reference - Sci:Ref GE 123.CS13
- Encyclopedia of climate and weather - Sci:Ref QC 354.EJ65
- Encyclopedia of ecology and environmental management - Sci:Ref GE 300.EJ7
- Encyclopedia of environmental science - Sci:Ref GE 10.EJ8
- Encyclopedia of geochemistry - Sci:Ref QE 515.EJ7 1998
- Encyclopedia of geology - Sci:Ref QE 5.EJ85
- Encyclopedia of hurricanes, typhoons and cyclones - Sci:Ref
QC 941.LU823
- Encyclopedia of hydrology and water resources - Sci:Ref GB 655.EJ7 1998
- Encyclopedia of volcanoes - Sci:Ref QE 522.EJ7 2000
- Wiley encylopedia of energy and the environment - Sci:Ref TJ 163.235.WN55
General
- Directory of environmental databases and collections - Sci:Ref GE 160.N5 EL4
- Environmental Information: A guide to sources - Sci:Ref GE 25.LF89 1997
- Index to hydrological recording sites in New Zealand - Sci:Ref GB 661.2.W672 2000
- The Literature of soil science - Sci:Ref S 590.45.LS13
- Viking historical atlas of the earth - Sci:Ref QE 28.31.OT3
Print Indexes
- Geographical abstracts: Phys geography - Sci:Ref QE 28.ZG4
- Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts - Sci:Ref QC 861.ZM4
- Minerological abstracts - Sci:Ref QE 351.M35
- Polar and Glaciological abstracts - Sci:Ref G 587.ZP6
- Spectrum: NZ science - Ask at Science Library Information Desk
^ Top of page
Web sites
Last
revised:
12 May, 2010
|