University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Toby Smrekar
Tel 03 479 7935
Email tobias.smrekar
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Pacific Studies

Kia ora, Aloha, Fakalofa lahi atu, Hafadai, Halo olgeta, Kam na mauri, Kaselehlia, Kia orana, Malo e lelei, Ni sa bula, Talofa lava, Yokwe!!

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationAustralia/New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCOhost)
Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions.
Further informationHawaii Pacific Journal Index
Indexed articles from the journals of the University of Hawaii Manoa. 50+ Hawaiian & Pacific journals from Vol 1 of each title.
Further informationHistorical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). Leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
Public accessJournal of the Polynesian Society
The early issues of the Journal contain a rich repository of indigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples.
Public accessNational Library of New Zealand Discovery Search
Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles. Extended sources option also available.
Further informationProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Further informationTe Puna
Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.

Additional Pacific Studies databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • An annotated bibliography of Oceanic music and dance 1995 - Central Library: Reference ML 120.I745 M443
  • Australasia and South Pacific islands bibliography 1997 - Central Library: Reference Z 4001.TB66
  • The Cyclopedia of Samoa, Tonga, Tahiti and the Cook Islands 1907 - Central Library: Reference DU 510.CZ82 1983
  • The Garland encyclopedia of world music
  • The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia 2000 - Central Library: Reference DU 17.P2633

^ Top of page

Statistics

  • Pacific Profiles: 2006 - information on the seven largest Pacific peoples ethnic groups, based on the 2006 Census. Topics covered include demographics, language, religion, families and households, income, housing and smoking behaviour.
  • Statistics New Zealand - Pacific peoples information
  • On the demography of Pacific people in New Zealand - Hocken Collections: HA3173.RD74 no.7

^ Top of page

Web Sites

^ Top of page

Individual countries (If the country you are looking for is not listed, try searching in the GE source worldguide.)

Pacific cultures and languages

^ Top of page

News & information sources

 

Institutions & organisations

^ Top of page

Pacific library online catalogues

Subject directories

 

Last revised: 17 August, 2010