| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
New Zealand Statistics
On this page
Related Information
Databases & indexes
 | Factiva Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
|  | Index New Zealand New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
|  | Index of Key New Zealand Statistics This index outlines how to access online data previously contained in the Key Statistics publication.
|  | Infoshare Provides free online access to a wide range of time series data from Statistics New Zealand. This web-based tool can be used to access, view, and download the most up-to-date information from the largest directly accessible database of official statistics in New Zealand. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.
|  | Knowledge Basket New Zealand Index (including Newzindex, NZ Science, Newspaper Index, Index New Zealand), Newztext and LegislationNZ (including Hansard). To access the databases, use the "Where is your Newztext Search Page?" link under the Support tab and select the link for Universities.
|  | Newztext Plus (Knowledge Basket) An archive of the full text of many of New Zealand's key news and business publications.
|  | Statistics New Zealand Free search for official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.
|  | Table Builder Provides free online access to display set tables or graphs of New Zealand statistical data; change topic and area variables. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.
|  | Te Puna Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
|
Additional New Zealand databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
- Bateman New Zealand historical atlas 1997 - Cen:Ref:Atlas G 2796.S1 B3 1997
- Guide to New Zealand official statistics 3rd ed 1955 - Cen:Ref HA 3184.NA74 1955
- INFOS (NZ subject statistical time series) - Cen: Ref office [ask
at Information desk]
- An introduction to New Zealand government 1991"Statistics"
chapter pp. 260-290 - Cen:Ref JQ 5811.RK24
- New Zealand: a handbook of historical statistics 1984 ed G.T. Bloomfield
- Cen:Ref HA 3184.BM71
- Statistical publications 1840-1960. 1980 - brief history of official
NZ statistics, plus subject lists of statistical series with title changes
of publications in chronological order - Cen:Ref HA 3184.ZN52 1980
- SuperMap3 (NZ 1981, 1986,1996 census data) - Cen:ERAUSER01
- Understanding Aotearoa/ New Zealand: historical statistics ed. D Thorns
1997 - Cen:Ref HA 3184.TG528
New Zealand statistical series: by period
Statistics have been collected officially in New Zealand since it became
a Crown Colony in 1840. During the Crown Colony period the Colonial Secretary
was responsible for compilation. From 1853 to 1910 it was the duty of
the Registrar-General; from 1910 onwards the Government Statistician.
1840-1852
- Blue Books of statistics compiled by the Colonial Secretariat 1840-1855.
They were not at first published.
- In 1954, statistics from these and other sources were published by
University of Auckland in: "Statistics of New Zealand for the
Crown Colony period, 1840 -1852". Cen:Ref 3T5ws S
Blue Books included:
- 1840-1847 and 1853-1855: annual Blue Books for the colony of New Zealand
- 1848-1852: statistics for the Province of New Ulster
- 1849-1852: statistics for the Province of New Munster
- 1841-1848: statistics for New Munster cumulated
1853/1856-1920
- 1856 "Statistics of New Zealand" (Cen:Ref 3T5ws S)
replaced the Blue Books
- The first volume covered 1853-1856. Thereafter annual until 1920
- The title varies:" Statistics of the colony of New Zealand", "Statistics of the Dominion of New Zealand"
From 1921
- In 1921 "Statistics of New Zealand" was succeeded
by a series of annual subject reports (e.g. "Population and
buildings" and "Trade and shipping"). These
subject series continue, with occasional changes of name, proliferation
and sub-division of series and the introduction of new series
- Monthly updates to the annual subject reports appeared in the "Monthly
abstract of statistics"(1914 to1988) and in "Key
statistics" (from 1988 )
From 1982
- From 1982 series collected by Dept. of Statistics (Statistics New
Zealand) available online via INFOS (Information Network of Official
Statistics). Ask at the Information Desk for Infos searching
- From the 1990's Statistics New
Zealand web site provides access to many statistics.
New Zealand official yearbook
- Complete set at Cen:Ref 3T5ws, latest edition also in Reserve
- Predecessors: official handbooks by Julius Vogel and Francis Dillon
Bell. Library has 1892
- 1893: first "New Zealand official yearbook"
- Annual: except for the combined volumes for 1921/22, 1947/49 and 1951/52
- 1990 edition: a sesquicentennial special issue included historical
material & cumulated tables
- 1991: none published
- 1993 edition: commemorated women's suffrage
- 1999: condensed print-out of the Web version, no paper copy
- 2000 web version "Profile
of New Zealand"
- 2000: print edition to be published every 2 years, not annually
- Each yearbook provides a summary of statistics and also refers to
other sources. From 1980 each chapter lists sources of further data
New Zealand Census of population & dwellings
- 1851: New Zealand's first census. Problems with administration. Māori
not included. Figures not published until 1954 in "Statistics
of New Zealand for the Crown Colony period, 1840-1852". (Cen:Ref
3T5ws S)
- Since 1858 statistics of the official census have been published
- 1858, 1861, 1864 and 1867 censuses published in "Statistics
of New Zealand" (Cen:Ref 3T5ws S)
- From 1871 each census has been individually published. (Cen:Ref 3T5ws C)
- Census dates are 1871, 1874, 1878, 1881, then 5 yearly to 1926.
- 1931: census not taken due to the Depression
- 1936, 1945, 1951. Since then 5 yearly
- The 1945 census was substituted for 1941 and 1946 owing to World War
2
- For the early history of the Census see the General report pp.1-16
of the 1921 Census
- 1986 Supermap - the Census made available as a database for the first
time
- 1991 Census issued as Supermap II
- 1996 Census: Supermap III (includes some 1986, 1991 census data).
Central, Hocken, Medical & Science Libraries
- Census data is available online from 1996 onwards at the following link - http://www.stats.govt.nz/Census.aspx
The Māori population
- Early official statistics on Māori
are generally more difficult to find than those for the European population
- 1859: first official census of Māori:
Fenton,F.D. "Observations on the state of the aboriginal inhabitants
of New Zealand". (Cen:Ref HA3184.FA63
- 1874 to 1926: Māori data appeared as
an appendix to the census
- 1926 Census: more precise data on Māori
- 1951: figures fully integrated into the main tables
- Pool, Ian, "Te iwi Māori:
a New Zealand population, past present and projected".1991
(Cen:Ref DU465.P66 PT448). Brings together official and non-official data
on the Māori population, including estimates
of the pre-1856 Māori population
- Mako, Cyril, A directory of the location of statistics on the
New Zealand Māori population. 1991.
Cen:Ref DU465.P66 M683
Boundaries
- Statistics New Zealand uses a defined system of boundaries for analysis
of data it collects
- Statistics collected by other agencies are often based upon different
administrative areas e.g. Employment Districts. At a regional level
statistics based on Statistics New Zealand boundaries cannot always
be compared with other social and economic data
- Until the 1920s few administrative maps are available. Time series
of data by consistent geographical areas are seldom possible for anything
smaller than provincial districts.
- Maps appear in some Census volumes
Collections of maps relevant to statistics
- New Zealand. Dept. of Statistics. Set of maps of statistical boundaries.
3rd ed. Cen:Ref:Atlas G 2796.F7 N35 1981
- Marshall, Brian. Atlas of New Zealand boundaries. Cen:Ref:Atlas G 2796.F7 M37 1986.
Covers organizational, administrative, territorial and statistical boundaries
both official and unofficial throughout New Zealand's history. (2nd
ed. 1996 does not include NZ statistical boundaries)
- New Zealand. Ministry of Works. Town & Country Planning Branch.
Atlas of New Zealand regional statistics. 1968. Cen:Ref:Atlas G2796.F7 N4 1968
Selected current statistical publications
Shelved at 3T5w, at the end of the Reference Collection
- Business activity statistics 1991+ - Cen:Ref 3t5ws B
- Census of population and dwellings. 5 yearly. Includes separate reports
e.g. Electoral profiles - Cen:Ref 3T5ws C
- Demographic trends 1986 + - Cen:Ref 3T5ws D
- Key statistics (monthly updates e.g.CPI for inflation rate) - Cen:Ref
3t5ws K
- New Zealand official yearbook 1892-1999 - (New Zealand in Profile) - Cen:Ref 3T5w
- Search by subject or keyword for the latest information
Web sites
- Trade
NZ - Export statistics
- NZ Ministry of Education
- Statistics New Zealand
- Statistics for Universities - NZ universities' research staff and student access to specialised statistical products and data packages, including New Zealand and Australian Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFS), customised data, key Statistics NZ publications and quarterly seminars. Other useful NZ data sources - NZ Treasury long-term data (1840-2004), Digital Boundaries, StreetLink and Census Meshblock Data
- Statisphere - New
Zealand's new official statistics portal, links to Statistics
NZ and other agencies, under development
- University
of Auckland Library - Good links to sites local and international data sources
- UNESCO Statistics - Global
and internationally comparable statistics on education, science,
technology, culture and communication
- NZ Ministry of Health
- World Health Organization
Statistical Information System - WHOSIS
- NZ History - Maintained
by Heritage Group of the Dept of Internal Affairs.
Time series and comparability
- Treat time series tabulations with caution. Some have been compiled
without adequate recognition of changing definitions or notes to explain
how the series were derived. Retrospective tabulations in the Yearbooks
are prone to this problem.
- The introduction of new methods and publications in the mid 1920s
means that retrospective tables from the present are rarely possible
beyond 1926. In the sesquicentennial 1990 NZ Official yearbook a special
effort was made to produce tables with historically compatible time
series.
- Statistical methods can change to improve accuracy, but such changes
have a drawback in the loss of comparability e.g. compilation of the
Consumer Price Index was altered radically in 1974.
Standard statistical classifications
To enable international comparisons to be made, industrial, occupational
and trade statistics are now organized by classifications schedules based
on those prepared by the United Nations. Examples of NZ standard classifications:
- A guide to New Zealand standard statistical classifications 1991 -
Cen:Ref HA 3184.NH33
- New Zealand standard Classifications of occupations 2001 - Cen:Ref HB 2782.5.NH33
- Australian and New Zealand standard industrial Classifications: NZ
version. 2006 Classifies all economic activity from manufacturing to
public administration. - Cen:Ref HC 662.AX646 2006
Other sources
- Early newspapers (Hocken Collections , New Zealand Gazettes (Cen:Ref
3OC5)
- NZ Parliamentary papers(Cen:Ref 3OC5) "Appendices to the
Journals of the House of Representatives"(AJHR) - from 1854
have included reports of government depts with statistical information.
Reports are grouped in subject classifications (A to I). Each has a
classification or "shoulder number", with a letter and number
e.g. annual reports of Police (G6) and Labour (G1)
- Provincial governments' papers (1853-1876) also include statistics
- Government agencies, other than Statistics New Zealand (formerly Dept.
of Statistics), publish statistics e.g. the Ministry of Health and the
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries
- Individual books may include statistics e.g. Geoff Rice's "Black
November: the 1918 influenza epidemic in New Zealand" 1988,
has detailed statistics not all available in published official sources
- There are also one-off official statistical publications e.g.
"Profile of women: a statistical comparison of females and males
in New Zealand 1945-1984". 1985. (Cen:Ref HQ1865.6.PY63)
and separate titles published in the "New Zealand now"
series
Last revised:
26 March, 2010
|