University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Rosalind Andrew
Tel 03 479 7484
Email rosalind.andrew
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

New Zealand Resources

On this page

Related Information

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic Search Complete (via Ebsco)
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
Public accessArchway (Archives New Zealand)
Over 1.5 million records. Please note that Archway it does not yet provide on-line access to the text of the records themselves. It contains descriptive information of records, most of which can then be ordered from an Archives NZ office.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect via Web of Knowledge
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationDictionary of New Zealand Biography
Biographies of 3,000+ New Zealanders who have 'made their mark' on this country. It does not include people who are alive.
Further informationFactiva
Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
Public accessfindNZarticles
Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Public accessHakena: Hocken Library Archives and Manuscripts
Descriptions of the unpublished Manuscripts and Pictures from the Hocken Collections' Archives and Manuscripts Collections.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
The key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material. INNZ provides citation access to over half a million articles published in over 400 New Zealand and South Pacific newspaper and journal titles from 1987 to the present.
Further informationIndex New Zealand (via Te Puna)
The key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material. INNZ provides citation access to over half a million articles published in over 400 New Zealand and South Pacific newspaper and journal titles from 1987 to the present.
Further informationIndex to New Zealand Art (INZART) via New Zealand Index
The University of Auckland's index to articles from journals and related publications on twentieth century New Zealand artists, art galleries, museums, exhibitions and art events is now accessible through The Knowledge Basket's 'New Zealand Index' (when searching ONLY tick the 'NZ Art' box).
Further informationKnowledge Basket
New Zealand Index (including Newzindex, NZ Science, Newspaper Index, Index New Zealand), Newztext and LegislationNZ (including Hansard). To access the databases, use the "Where is your Newztext Search Page?" link under the Support tab and select the link for Universities.
Public accessKRIS (Kiwi Research Information Service)
Provided and run by the National Library of New Zealand, KRIS is a gateway to the open-access publicly funded research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand.
Further informationMaori Land Court Minute Books Index (via Knowledge Basket)
Created by the University of Auckland Library, this index provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maori Land Court Districts. The database is not being updated.
Public accessMatapihi
Searchable database of over 175,000 pictures, objects, sounds, movies, and texts from New Zealand’s archives, galleries, libraries and museums.
Further informationNational Bibliographic Database (NBD) via Te Puna
Bibliographic records with holdings - New Zealand's National Union Catalogue.
Public accessNational Library of New Zealand Discovery Search
Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles. Extended sources option also available.
Further informationNew Zealand Index
An index of key New Zealand databases including Newzindex, NZ Science, Index New Zealand, Newspaper Index, Auckland Index, NZ Woman's Weekly Index, NZ Herald Family +Notices and INZART.
Further informationNew Zealand National Bibliography
A list of publications from or about New Zealand. It provides a record of New Zealand's publishing activities and is a reflection of the social, cultural and scientific endeavours of the country.
Further informationNewztext Plus (via Knowledge Basket)
An archive of the full text of many of New Zealand's key news and business publications.
Further informationNZX Deep Archive (formerly Datex)
Lists New Zealand company information and provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data.
Public accessOtago Daily Times Online
An open and free source of local, national, international and sports news. Now interactive with a multimedia platform allowing users to comment on stories, vote in polls, send in photographs and create their own news stories. Includes an 'On campus' section (news, photo slideshows, blogs, and a gig guide), and home-pages for most local towns (news stories, photos, events, and weather).
Further informationProQuest 5000
Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications.
Public accessPublications New Zealand
Provides access to the New Zealand National Bibliography (NZNB). It contains descriptions of books, periodicals, films, music and other material published in New Zealand, or with a significant New Zealand content, and links to libraries where you can find each item.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Public accessTapuhi
Descriptions of the unpublished Manuscripts and Pictures Collections of New Zealand and Pacific material in the Alexander Turnbull Library.
Public accessTe Ara - Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Online and updated version of the Encyclopedia of New Zealand first published in 1966.
Public accessTe Papa Picture Library
Search a small selection of Te Papa's 800,000 rare and beautiful New Zealand images
Further informationTe Puna
Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
Further informationWakareo-a-ipurangi
Comprehensive and up-to-the-minute online Māori - English - Māori dictionary resource.

Additional New Zealand databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

General

  • An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966 - Cen:Ref DU 414.EJ7
  • Bateman New Zealand encyclopedia 5th ed. 2000 - Cen:Ref DU 414.BA16 2000
  • The Cyclopedia of Otago & Southland 1999 - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 CZ826 1999
  • The Cyclopedia of New Zealand : industrial, descriptive, historical, biographical, facts, figures, illustrations - Cen:Books DU 417.CZ82
  • Heinemann dictionary of New Zealand quotations 1988 - Cen:Ref PN 6081.HF24
  • Historical & political dictionary of New Zealand 2008 - Cen:Ref DU 414.J393 2008
  • Index to New Zealand periodicals - Cen:Ref Z 6962.N5 IC5
  • An Introduction to New Zealand government 1991 - Cen:Ref JQ 5811.RK24
  • New Zealand book of events 1986 - Cen:Ref DU 414.NH318
  • Parliamentary practice in New Zealand 2nd ed. 1994 - Cen:Ref JQ 5859.M371 1994
  • Studying New Zealand 1999 - Cen:Ref Z 4416.WV55 1999
  • Temple's guide to the 44th New Zealand Parliament 1994 - Cen:Ref JQ 5854.T882

^ Top of page

Language Dictionaries

  • The Dictionary of New Zealand English 1997 - Cen:Dic PE 3602.DJ19
  • Dictionary of New Zealand sign language 1997 - Cen:Ref HV 2475.DJ216
  • English-Māori dictionary 1993 -Cen:Dic PL 6465.Z5 NJ97
  • Wakareo - Online Māori- English - Māori dictionary resource
  • The Reed dictionary of modern Māori - Cen:Dic PL 6465.Z5 RZ62 2008

^ Top of page

People

  • Alexander Turnbull Library biographies index 1995 - Cen:Mfc 50C A
  • The Book of New Zealand women 1991 - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 BP97
  • The Concise dictionary of New Zealand artists 2000 - Cen:Ref N 7406.M371
  • The Dictionary of New Zealand biography - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 DJ21
  • New Zealand biographical clippings 1890-1988 - Hoc:Ref:Mfc AC13
  • New Zealand who's who Aotearoa - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 NH338
  • Return of the freeholders of New Zealand: names, addresses... 1884 - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 NH33
  • Southern people: a dictionary of Otago Southland biography - Cen:Ref DU 434.A2 SQ196
  • Who's who in New Zealand - Cen:Ref DU 434.WL66 1991
  • Who's who in the New Zealand Parliament - Cen:Ref JQ 5857.BL19

^ Top of page

Atlases, gazetteers etc.

  • Atlas of New Zealand boundaries 1996 - Cen:Atlases G 2796.F7 M3 1996
  • Discover New Zealand: Wises guide - Cen:Ref DU 414.DK94 1994
  • Heinemann New Zealand atlas 1987 - Cen:Atlases G 2795.H4 1987
  • New Zealand index to places & streets for electoral purposes 1996 - Cen:Atlases JQ 5892.NH36
  • Placenames of the ancestors: a Māori oral history atlas 1990 - Cen:Ref DU 414.KU4
  • Reed New Zealand atlas 2004 - Cen:Ref G 2795.H4 2004

^ Top of page

Directories

  • Directory of official information - Cen:Ref JQ 5821.DK86
  • The Marketing services directory 2000 - Hocken: HF 5415.12.N5 MA74
  • Media directory 2004 - Cen:Ref HF 5808.N5 A548
  • The New Zealand business who's who - Cen:Ref HF 4030.5.NH32
  • New Zealand company register - Cen:Ref HF 4030.5.Z6 NH32
  • New Zealand government directory - Cen:Ref JQ 5824.NH29
  • Press, radio & TV guide: Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands 1998/99 - Cen:Ref Z 6961.PX52
  • TAKOA: te aka kumara o Aotearoa; directory of Maori organisations and resource people in Aotearoa - Cen:Ref DU 458.A951
  • Te Hikoi marama: a directory of Māori information resources 1993 - Cen:Ref DU 449.HM17

^ Top of page

Subject dictionaries, guides etc.

  • A Directory of New Zealand plays and playwrights 1981 - Cen:Ref Z 4414.D7 PP94 1981
  • Early New Zealand films held in the United Kingdom and America 2001 - Cen:Ref PN 1993.5.N5 P989
  • The encyclopedia of New Zealand rugby - Cen:Ref GV 945.9.N5 EJ7 2005
  • New Zealand dictionary of business terms 2006 - Cen:Ref HF 1001.LD39
  • New Zealand film 1912-1996 - Cen:Ref PN 1993.5.N5 MC19
  • New Zealand literature to 1977 - Cen:Ref Z 4411.TF74
  • The Oxford history of New Zealand Rev. ed. 1992 - Cen:Res DU 429.OZ5 1992
  • The Oxford companion to New Zealand military history 2000 - Cen:Ref DU 430.OZ5
  • The Oxford history of New Zealand literature 2nd ed. 1998 - Cen:Ref PR 9624.3.OZ5 1998
  • Twin peeks: Australian and New Zealand feature films - Cen:Books PN 1993.5.A8 TY94
  • Write, edit, print: style manual for Aotearoa New Zealand 1997 - Cen:Ref Z 253.WY35 1997

^ Top of page

Bibliographies

  • A bibliography of the literature relating to New Zealand 1909 - Cen:Ref Z 4401.HN87
  • A bibliography of printed Maori to 1900 - Cen:Ref Z 4401.WP95
  • A bibliography of publications on the New Zealand Māori and the Moriori ... - Cen:Ref Z 4427.M3 T696
  • Catalogue of books on New Zealand 1997 - Cen:Ref Z 4401.C986 1997
  • New Zealand books in print - Cen:Ref Z 4401.NH33
  • New Zealand National Bibliography
  • New Zealand national bibliography to the year 1960 - Cen:Ref Z 4401.NH335
  • New Zealand: World bibliographical series v18 1998 - Cen:Ref Z 4401.GV84 1998
  • Union list of New Zealand newspapers before 1940 - Cen:Ref Z 6962.N5 HA582

^ Top of page

Statistics

  • Key statistics - Cen:Ref Bliss 3T5ws M
  • New Zealand, a handbook of historical statistics - Cen:Ref HA 3184.BM71
  • The New Zealand official year-book - Cen:Ref Bliss 3T5w N
  • The Social Report - 2002 - acomprehensive picture of the social health and well-being of New Zealanders.
  • Ministry of Social Development - social snapshot of NZ. Brings together information under the broad headings of: health, knowledge and skills, safety and security, paid work, human rights, culture and identity, economic standard of living, social connectedness, and the environment. Update only in electronic form.
  • Statistics New Zealand
  • Understanding Aotearoa/New Zealand 1997 - Cen:Ref HA 3184.TG528

^ Top of page

Archives & Manuscripts

^ Top of page

Web sites

General sites

^ Top of page

NZ Commerce sites

^ Top of page

NZ Investment Information

^ Top of page

NZ Media

Last revised: 22 February, 2010