|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
New Zealand Parliament
On this page
Related Information
Databases & indexes
 | Archway (Archives New Zealand) Over 1.5 million records. Please note that Archway it does not yet provide on-line access to the text of the records themselves. It contains descriptive information of records, most of which can then be ordered from an Archives NZ office.
|  | Factiva Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
|  | Index New Zealand New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
|  | Newztext Plus (Knowledge Basket) An archive of the full text of many of New Zealand's key news and business publications.
|  | Te Puna Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
|
Additional New Zealand databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
- An Introduction to New Zealand government 1991 - Cen:Ref JQ 5811.RK24
- Cabinet Office manual - Cen:Ref JQ 5845.NH32
- Finding list of New Zealand royal commissions - Cen:Ref Z 4409.JA1
- Index to New Zealand periodicals - Cen:Ref Z 6962.N5 IC5
- Ministers and members in the NZ Parliament 2nd ed. 1996 - Cen:Ref
JQ 5842.MN16
- NZ Government Directory - Cen:Ref JQ 5824.NH29
- NZ Government Directory of official
information - Cen:Ref JQ 5821.DK86
- New Zealand Parliamentary record - Cen:Ref JQ 5851.NH33
- Parliamentary practice in New Zealand 2nd ed. 1994 - Cen:Ref JQ 5859.M371 1994
- Who's who in the New Zealand
Parliament - Cen:Ref JQ 5857.BL19
^ Top of page
New Zealand Parliamentary Publications
Legislation
- Statutes
of New Zealand 1854+ - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- The published Acts of Parliament e.g. the Electoral Act,
1993.
- Acts are numbered within each year, they are first issued separately,
then in bound annual volumes.
- To find an act use Brookers index to statutes - a poster
on the end of the statutes shelf. It gives the year
and number of each act.
- Tables of New Zealand Public Acts and Statutory Regulations
in force is a fuller index in booklet form.
- Some acts have been reprinted in an up-to-date set as Reprinted
statutes of New Zealand (Referred to as "RS" in the
indexes).
- Parliament Bills 1960+ shelved next to the statutes - Cen:Ref Bliss
3OC5
- Bills are draft statutes, before they are passed by Parliament.
- New Zealand. Laws etc. Statutory Regulations. 1936/37+ shelved following
statutes - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Regulations issued under the authority of Acts of Parliament
- Butterworth's Annotations of New Zealand statutes - Cen:Ref Bliss
3OC5
- Index to the New Zealand statutes - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
^ Top of page
Journals & Appendices
- Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives 1858+ -
Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Known as A to Js or AJHR. (The House of Representatives is Parliament's
official name)
- Contain many annual reports of government departments and agencies,
treaties & other important official papers e.g. the Budget
- Appendices are classified by letters (A to I) and numbers ("shoulder
numbers" ) which tend to remain the same from session to session
eg: the Budget is always B6, the Representation Commission Report
is H1, the General Election returns are E9, the Education
Dept. Annual report is E1
- To find the appropriate "shoulder number" for a paper
consult the index at the back of any bound set of Appendices
- Select committee reports are published as "I" Appendices.
(Note: submissions to and documents of select committees are not
usually printed and are only available for consultation at Parliament.
- Annual reports of official agencies not published as Appendices
but held in the Library are separately catalogued and shelved at
Cen:Books HC 661.A4
- See below under Annual reports of government depts.
- Appendices
on the Web
- The Office of the Clerk of the House web site has parliamentary
papers presented to the House and ordered to be published during
the parliament
- Journals of the House of Representatives 1858+ - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- The formal record or minutes of Parliament
- Useful schedules are contained in each bound sessional set e.g.
"Schedule of papers" gives the letter & number (shoulder
number) of papers in the Appendices. "Schedule of select committees"
and "Schedule of public bills" gives dates of progress
through the House
^ Top of page
Debates
- New Zealand Parliamentary Debates 1867+
- Known as Hansard, the Debates are a verbatim record what is said
in Parliament - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Print 1867 +
- Issued weekly. Each bound sessional set has an index by speaker
& formal subject headings
- Separate supplementary volumes with Questions for written answer
from 1989
- 1987-2005 search via Knowledge
basket's LegislationNZ
- 2003+ browse only via Parliament's
web page
- Parliamentary bulletin - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- A weekly newsletter compiled by the Clerk of House
- Outlines the progress of legislation, the financial cycle, the
work of committees etc
- Includes a list of select committee reports for the current parliament
with "I" Appendices numbers
- New Zealand Gazette 1840+ - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Notice papers - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Details of general business of parliament
- Order papers - Cen:Ref Bliss 3OC5
- Order of business for parliament
^ Top of page
Annual reports of government departments not in Appendices to the
Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR)
- Paper copies of reports not issued as Appendices to the Journals
of the House are published individually and catalogued separately.
Check the Library Catalogue using the department as an author.
Annual reports not issued in AJHR are classified in the Library at Cen
Books HC/661/A4
- Search individual departments via the NZ
Government web pages for annual reports.
^ Top of page
Select committee reports
- Select committee reports - See AJHR-" I" (selectively published,
usually incorporated into the second reading of the bill)
- Recent reports are available online.
Members of Select Committees can be found in the relevant Parliamentary
Bulletin.
^ Top of page
Standing orders
- Standing orders of the House of Representatives - Cen:Books KM 84.NJ68 1980
^ Top of page
Web sites
Last revised:
7 June, 2011
|