University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

New Zealand Literature

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic OneFile
Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationArts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
Further informationJSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
Further informationJSTOR Plant Science
Trial access available until 31st December 2012. Provides access to botanical resources from around the world including: a database of plant type specimens; scientific research articles dating back hundreds of years; foundational reference works and books; correspondence, including Kew’s Directors' Correspondence; paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images.
Further informationLION: Literature Online
A literary database of poetry, prose and drama in English. Content includes specialist journals, bibliographic records, and full-text works as well as MLA International Bibliography, Concise Oxford Dictionary, Webster’s Dictionary, Shakespeare Glossary, and King James Bible. Tutorial available via LION Online Demo
Further informationMLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
Further informationPIO: Periodicals Index Online
International index to 3,600+ international humanities & social sciences journals.
Further informationProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Further informationTe Puna
Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
Further informationWakareo-a-ipurangi
Comprehensive and up-to-the-minute online Māori - English - Māori dictionary resource.

Additional New Zealand databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Art Index (Film Reviews) - Cen:Ref N 1.A1 ZA7
  • Book review index - Cen:Ref Z 1035.A1 BP97
  • Index to New Zealand periodicals - Cen:Ref Z 6962.N5 IC5
  • New Zealand literature file
  • New Zealand national bibliography 1966+ - Cen:Ref Z 4401.NH34 1983+ cabinet near microfiche readers
  • The Oxford companion to New Zealand literature 1998 - Cen:Ref PR 9620.2.OZ5
  • The Oxford history of New Zealand literature in English 2nd ed 1998 - Cen:Ref PR 19624.3.O25
  • Bibliographies of particular authors - Cen:Ref PR 9640 to Ref PR 9641
  • Contemporary authors 1967+ - Cen:Ref PN 771.CRL72

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 7 June, 2011