| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Music
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
|  | Classical Music Library A multi-label database of Classical music recordings. The growing collection of 50,000-plus tracks includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Requires audio-enabled computer and Macromedia Flash Player or Microsoft Windows Media Player.
|  | JSTOR Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
|  | Naxos Music Library The world's largest online classical music library with streaming access to more than 31,000 CDs with more than 440,000 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels.
|  | Naxos Music Library - Jazz A comprehensive collection of Jazz music comprising of Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. It offers over 22,000 tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums.
|  | Oxford Music Online Covers the entire history of music from Bach to the Blues, with broad coverage of musical styles, and external audio links. Includes: The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music (all fully cross-searchable).
|  | ProQuest Central A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
|  | RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) Contains entries that include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
|
Additional Music databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Dictionaries
- Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians - Cen:Ref ML 105.B463 2001
- Dictionary of Australian music - Cen:Ref ML 360.DJ19
- Facts on File dictionary of music - Cen:Ref ML 100.AG74 2004
- New Grove dictionary of jazz 3 vol - Cen:Ref ML 102.J3 NH32 2002
- New Grove dictionary of music and musicians 29 vol - Cen:Ref ML 100.NH32 2001
- New Grove dictionary of musical instruments - Cen:Ref ML 102.I5 NH32
- New Grove dictionary of opera 4 vol - Cen:Ref ML 102.O6 NH32
- Selected musical terms of non-western cultures - Cen:Ref ML 3798.K63
- Worship music: A concise dictionary - Cen:Ref ML 102.C5 WX35
^ Top of page
Encyclopedias
- Bakers biographical dictionary of musicians 6 vol - Cen:Ref ML 105.B463 2001
- Companion to Irish traditional music - Cen:Ref ML 101.I73 CQ55
- Encyclopedia of popular music - Cen:Ref ML 102.P66 EJ7 1998
- Encyclopedia of the musical theatre - Cen:Ref ML 102.M88 G586
- Folk and blues : the encyclopedia - Cen:Ref ML 102.F66 SS35
- Garland encyclopedia of world music - Cen:Ref ML 100.G674
- Encyclopedia of popular music - Cen:Ref ML 102.P66 EJ7 1998
- International encyclopedia of women composers 6vol- Cen:Ref ML 105.CN63 1987
- International who's who in classical music - Cen:Ref ML 105.IL32 2004
- International who's who in music and musicians directory 2 vol - Cen:Ref
ML 105.IL3
- Music in the 20th century 3 vol - Cen:Ref ML 105.MZ55
- Musical America. International directory of the performing arts -
Cen:Ref ML 12.MZ55
- Oxford companion to Australian music - Cen:Ref ML 101.A9 OZ5
- St James opera encyclopedia - Cen:Ref ML 102.O6 SR94 1997
- The Book of rock - Cen:Ref ML 102.R6 DM16
- The Rock who's who - Cen:Ref ML 102.R6 HF43
- Oxford companion to musical instruments - Cen:Ref ML 102.I5 B439
- Ultimate encyclopedia of musical instruments - Cen:Ref ML 102.I5 UF6
- World music: the rough guide - Cen:Ref ML 3545.WX24
Research
- Archive of New Zealand sheet music - Cen:Ref ML 120.N5 GF43 2001
- Choral music : a research and information guide - Cen:Ref ML 128.C48 SH27
- New Grove handbooks in music: ethnomusicology: an introduction - Cen:Ref
ML 3799.EU4
- New Grove handbooks in music: ethnomusicology: historical and regional
studies - Cen:Ref ML 3799.EU42
- Opera : a research and information guide - Cen:Ref ML 128.O4 M978 2001
^ Top of page
Subject classifications
- Music Literature - ML
- Music Scores - M
- Musical Instruction and Study - MT
^ Top of page
Bibliographies
- African music: a bibliographical guide ... - Cen:Ref ML 120.A35 GS24
- Annotated bibliography of Oceanic music & dance - Cen:Ref ML 120.I745 M443 1995
- Hawaiian music: an annotated bibliography - Cen:Ref ML 125.H4 SV74
^ Top of page
Newspapers, magazines & indexes
- New York Times (with index)
1975+
- Otago Daily Times 1997+ (Print
1901+)
- Time (magazine) 1923+ - Microfilm fulltext & related print indexes
near the Dictionaries, Reference area
- Times
(London) (with index) 1861+ - Cen:Mfm 5/65/T
- New Zealand newspapers - Current 3 issues in Newly Arrived display
area, 1st floor. Previous 2 years held in Newspaper area on 1st floor.
Older than 2 years at Hocken except ODT on microfilm in Reference. Hocken
Collections specialises in material on NZ and the Pacific.
^ Top of page
Web sites
Last revised:
17 February, 2011
|