| Database key |
|
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Health
Sciences Subject Guides
Evidence-based Medicine Web
Resources
On this page
Other resources
Please note that many links are to US sites. Readers should be cautious
of nomenclature, especially with regard to the naming of drugs.
Introduction and Tutorials
- Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine
(19K in PDF format)
- Tony Egan, of the Dunedin School of Medicine, provides an overview
of EBM, supported by a wide range of web resources, tutorials and guides.
- Introduction
to EBM - Developed by the University of North Carolina, uses clinical
problems to contruct a "well-built clinical question", then
how to find and evaluate the research literature
- UNC Educational
Resources - CATs, tables of likelihood ratios and clinically significant
drug interactions
Advanced EBM
-
-
-
-
-
Glossary
of Terms - By Katherine McLucas, University of Colorado. Excellent
for statistical definitions
Databases of Reviews, Critically Appraised Topics (CATs)
Identification, evaluation and application of relevant evidence can be
beyond the capacity of individual clinicians.
"Best evidence" journals and systematic reviews of health care
interventions provide relevant, carefully assessed and rapidly accessible
information for immediate use in the clinical setting.
- Cochrane Library
(via MOH) - Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane
Database of Methodology Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of
Effectiveness, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, NHS Economic Evaluation
Database, Health Technology Assessment Database, Cochrane Methodology
Register
- EBM
Reviews (formerly via Ovid) - No longer accessible via Ovid, but all resources still available:
- Cochrane Library via Wiley (listed under key databases for Medicine). Cochrane
Central Register of Controlled Trials , Cochrane Database of Systematic
Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
- ACP Journal Club - (via library catalogue). Two journals: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine.
- CRD Reviews
(University of York, Centre for Systematic Reviews and Dissemination)
- Includes: NHS Economic Evaluation; Health Technology Assessment; Effective
Healthcare Bulletins. Lists completed reviews: abstracts available
- Bandolier
Knowledge - Collects good quality evidence under a variety of different
headings: systematic reviews of treatments, evidence about diagnosis,
epidemiology or health economics
- UNC
CAT Index (University of North Carolina)
Clinical Guidelines and Audit
These aim to provide evidence-based advice on best practice.
Conducting your own EBM
Patient-centred Medicine
Sackett's definition of EBM includes reference to the patient's values
and expectations. These are unique and present in every clinical encounter,
and determine the overall value of the encounter for the patient.
Including 'non-clinical' patient information in the problem's formulation
and management plan, Sackett recognises the "person" in the
patient. This is an extension of the clinical method referred to as "the
patient-centred clinical method".
Related
Kate.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Last revised:
21 January, 2008
|