University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Justin Farquhar
Tel 03 479 7825
Email justin.farquhar
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Mathematics & Statistics

On this page

Other resources

Databases & indexes

Further informationMathSciNet
Provides comprehensive coverage of international research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines.
Further informationSafari Tech Books Online
Over 350 IT titles from publishers including Addison-Wesley, Adobe Press, Cisco Press, Macromedia Press, New Riders, O’Reilly, Prentice Hall, Peachpit Press, Que, Sams, and Syngress.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSIAM Journals Online
The electronic full-text archive (1997+) of all journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Mathematics & Statistics databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Cambridge dictionary of statistics - Sci:Ref QA 276.15.EX52
  • Dictionary of mathematics - Sci:Q Ref QA 5.DJ216
  • Dictionary of statistics and methodology - Cen:Ref HA 17.VV98 1993
  • Elseviers dictionary of mathematics - Sci:Ref QA 5.EG42
  • Words of mathematics - Sci:Ref QA 5.SC87

Encyclopedias

  • Companion encyclopedia of the history and philosophy of the mathematical sciences - Sci:Ref QA 21.CO55
  • CRC Concise encyclopedia of mathematics - Sci:Ref QA 5.WD78
  • Encyclopedia of mathematics + supplement (1997) - Sci:Ref QA 5.EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of statistical sciences + update (1997) - Sci:Ref QA 276.14.EJ7

Handbooks and manuals

  • CRC standard mathematical tables and formulae - Sci:Q Ref QA 47.C215
  • Mathematically speaking: a dictionary of quotations - Sci:Ref QA 99.MD557
  • Notable Mathematicians - Sci:Ref QA 28.NW515
  • World directory of mathematicians 12th ed 2002 - Sci:Ref QA 30.WX24

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 12 May, 2010