| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Marketing
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Full text journal coverage in all disciplines of business, including: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
|  | Emerald The Emerald Management Extra (EMX) collection includes more than 160 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals. Also included is access to the Emerald Backfiles - the full digitized archive of Emerald journal titles in business, management, library and information services, materials sciences and engineering.
|  | Factiva Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
|  | Index to New Zealand Art (INZART) via New Zealand Index The University of Auckland's index to articles from journals and related publications on twentieth century New Zealand artists, art galleries, museums, exhibitions and art events is now accessible through The Knowledge Basket's 'New Zealand Index' (when searching ONLY tick the 'NZ Art' box).
|  | New Zealand Index An index of key New Zealand databases including Newzindex, NZ Science, Index New Zealand, Newspaper Index, Auckland Index, NZ Woman's Weekly Index, NZ Herald Family +Notices and INZART.
|  | NZX Deep Archive (formerly Datex) Lists New Zealand company information and provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data.
|  | OSIRIS (Global Quoted Companies) Browser must allow pop-ups. A comprehensive database of 46,000 listed companies from 190 countries. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement and ratios, it contains a wide range of complementary information such as ownership, subsidiaries, and ratings. Also contains SEC (Edgar) filings and Global Reports.
|  | Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
|  | Web of Science via Web of Knowledge Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
|
Additional Marketing databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Encyclopedias
- Advertising age: Encyclopedia of advertising 3 vols 2003 - Cen:Books H F5803.A725
- Blackwell encyclopedia of management - Cen:Ref HD 30.15.BL783 2005
- Business writing for results 2003 - Cen:Books HF 5726.CL52
- Dictionary of business 2006
- Dictionary of business and management 2009
- Encyclopedia of the global economy: a guide for students and researchers - Cen:Ref HF 1359.O55
- Encyclopedia of world trade - Cen:Ref HF 1373.EJ7
- International dictionary of marketing 2002 - Cen:Ref HF 1001.Y324
- Penguin dictionary of marketing - Cen:Books HF 5412.PC846
Marketing books
- Directory of international direct and e-marketing : a country-by-country sourcebook of providers, legislation and data - Cen:Ref HF5415.26.D866 2003
- New Zealand business who's who 2007/2008 - Cen:Ref HF 4030.5.NH32
- New Zealand company register 2008-09 - Cen:Ref HF 4030.5.Z6 NH32
- Encyclopedia of consumer brands 3 vols - Cen:Books HF 5415.3.EJ7
- a'Courts (NZ products, brands,
trades, companies) 2007 - Cen:Ref HF 5318.5.A52
^ Top of page
Statistics
- Europa world year book - Cen:Ref D 839.E85 or Europa world plus
- Far East and Australasia - Cen:Ref DS 1.F3
- International trade statistics yearbook - Cen:Ref HF 91.YC82
- Key Statistics NZ - Cen:Ref 3T5ws
- Statistics New Zealand - import and export; business - Cen:Ref
3T5w
^ Top of page
Web sites
New Zealand sites
^ Top of page
General sites
- American Marketing Association
- Association news, membership and marketing information, products and
services offered by vendors, as well as job notices and career guides.
Free registration required.
- Current industrial reports
- Manufacturing & Construction Division (MCD) of the US Census Bureau
- Current Industrial Reports (CIR).
- Inc.com - Comprehensive management
resources for entrepreneurs and small businesses. Information, products,
services, and online tools from a wide variety of sources are provided
for virtually every business and management task. Updated daily,
- KnowThis.com - Valuable starting
point for researching marketing topics.
- National Consumers League
- The Spire Project
- Research guide and search-engine alternative: mix of official/governmental
sites, databases, libraries, and commercial resources. Topics: Finding
Articles, Searching Patents, Company Information, Country Profiles,
Imports & Exports and Statistics.
International company information
- Annual report gallery
- Annual reports - majority of the Fortune 500 companies.
- The Australian Industry Group-
Independent body representing 11,500 Australian companies to help Australian
industry be more competitive.
- CAROL - International company
annual reports
- EDGAR - Database of
corporate information
- Forbes lists
- Forbes 500:
biggest, most powerful US companies. Search by rank of sales, market
value, assets, profits, state or industry.
- 500 Fastest Growing
Private Companies - winners 1982+, search by year, company name,
keyword, state, and sector.
- Global 500:
World's Largest Corporations - ranking, company name, and revenues.
Sort by company name or view lists of CEOs or industries. Supplemental
lists include Top 25 in Asia, Top 25 in Europe etc
- Fortune lists
- Fortune: 100 Fastest
Growing Companies - Companies with revenue and market caps of at
least 50 million and publicly traded for at least three years.
- Hoover's Online - Concise free
Capsules on 12,000+ international companies.
- PRARS: - Public Register's Annual
Report Service (USA). America's largest annual report service. Company
financials, including annual reports, on 3,600+ public companies available
without charge to the investing public.
- Researching
companies online tutorial
- The Spire Project
- For finding Company Information
- Trademark searching on
the web - International Trademark Association
- Web 100: Big business on the
web - Largest world companies: 5 year income profiles, stock quotes
and reviews from Dow Jones.
^ Top of page
International country information
- CIA World
Factbook - 260+countries: map and flag, geographic, population,
government, economic, communication, transportation, military, and transnational
information. Good for basic country information
- Country
commercial guides- Marketing Research Library of Country Commercial Guides (CCG) prepared by US
Embassy Staff annually. Information on the business and economic situation
of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects US business.
- Economist Country Briefings
- Useful country profiles: background, forecasts and statistics,
market updates, new headlines, newspaper articles etc. Premium content
- not free.
- Governments on the WWW
- IMF country
information
- Index of Economic Freedom
(Heritage Foundation & Wall Street Journal)- 161 countries.
Economic freedom factors in 10 categories: trade policy, fiscal burden
of government, government intervention in the economy, monetary policy,
capital flows and foreign investment, banking and finance, wages and
prices, property rights, regulation, and the black market. Data are
taken from a variety of government and other reputable sources. Compare
countries and regions, across time, and sort the index by any of the
10 factors.
- OECD (Organization for Economic
Co-operation and Development) - Select member countries
- The Spire Project -
Country profiles
- Trade New Zealand
- Under Exporter essentials, select Country briefs
- US Census Bureau: 2010 Statistical
Abstract of the United States - US Census Bureau. 1,300+ pages of
30 sections of statistical data, including population, vital statistics,
education, elections, energy, transportation, health and nutrition etc.
- US Dept of State - Background
Notes - countries
- The World Bank - Select countries
and regions
Last revised:
4 March, 2010
|