University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Marine Science

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAquaculture Compendium
An encyclopedic, mixed media resource covering all aspects of aquaculture. It addresses issues of aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, poverty alleviation, livelihoods and much more.
Further informationASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
Further informationBiological Sciences (ProQuest)
This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Further informationGeoScienceWorld
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
Further informationZoological Record (Web of Knowledge)
Provides comprehensive coverage of zoological literature from 6,500+ international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports.

Additional Marine Science databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of aquaculture - Sci:Ref SH/20.3/OU8/1996
  • Facts on file dictionary of marine science - Sci:Ref GC/9/F361/2001

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of aquaculture - Sci:Ref SH/20.3/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of global environmental change - Sci:Ref GE/149/EJ8
  • Encyclopedia of marine mammals - Sci:Ref QL/701.2/EJ75
  • Encyclopedia of ocean sciences - Sci:Ref GC/9/EJ69
  • Encyclopedia of the sea - Sci:Ref GC/9/EF6/2000
  • Grzimek's Animal life encyclopedia - Sci:Q Ref QL/3/GW36

Handbooks & manuals

  • Atlas of the oceans: wind & wave climate - Sci:Atlas +/G2801/C8/Y8/1996
  • Fram atlas of the Southern Ocean - Sci: Atlas ++/G/3101/C7/F7
  • New Zealand nautical almanac - Sci:Q Ref QB//8/N5/NH32
  • New Zealand fish: a complete guide - Sci: Ref QL/636.2/NH33
  • Seabirds: an identification guide - Sci: Ref QL/673/H978
  • World atlas of the oceans - Sci: Atlas +G/2800/WX24
  • The World wildlife fund guide to extinct species of modern times- Sci:Q Ref QH/75/WX24v.1

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 21 January, 2008