University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Toby Smrekar
Tel 03 479 7935
Email tobias.smrekar
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Te Ao Māori - Māori Studies

On this page

Other resources

 

Key Databases & indexes

Further informationDictionary of New Zealand Biography - Contains biographies of people who have 'made their mark' on New Zealand. It does not include people who are alive.Full text | NZ Content
Further informationIndex New Zealand - New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.NZ Content
Public accessIwidex: index of tribal history, tikanga and whakapapa - An index of tribal history, tikanga and whakapapa held in the Heritage and Research Collections of Auckland City Libraries.Full text | NZ Content
Public accessJournal of the Polynesian Society - The early issues of the Journal contain a rich repository of indigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples.Full text | NZ Content
Further informationMaori Land Court Minute Books Index (Knowledge Basket) - This index provides access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maori Land Court Districts.NZ Content
Public accessNational Library of New Zealand Discovery Search - Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles. Extended sources option also available.Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Index - An index of key New Zealand databases including: Index Auckland, New Zealand Card Index, Bibliography of Published NZ Family Histories, NZ Herald Classified Personals, Index New Zealand, INZART Index, Manukau's Journey, Newzindex, Newspaper Index, NZ Science, and NZ Woman's Weekly Index.NZ Content
Further informationTe Puna - Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.NZ Content
Further informationWakareo-a-ipurangi - Comprehensive and up-to-the-minute online Māori - English - Māori dictionary resource.NZ Content

Additional Māori databases and resources

^ Top of page

Image Databases

Further informationeTV - Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register: select University of Otago, use University staff or student email address (otago.ac.nz) only, username/password will be sent to your email. Thereafter, login requires that username/password. Note: It is recommended that eTV is accessed using Firefox.NZ Content
Public accessForster Collection - Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford, UK - The Forsters set sail from Plymouth for the South Pacific on 13 July 1772 in Cook's ship the Resolution. The items they collected on their 3 year voyage are searchable on this database.NZ Content
Further informationMatapihi - Searchable database of over 175,000 pictures, objects, sounds, movies, and texts from New Zealand’s archives, galleries, libraries and museums.NZ Content
Public accessPicture Australia - Search for people, places and events in the collections of libraries, museums, galleries, archives, universities and other cultural agencies, in Australia and abroad. Over 400 images of Māori.NZ Content
Public accessTe Papa Picture Library - Search a small selection of Te Papa's 800,000 rare and beautiful New Zealand imagesNZ Content
Public accessTimeframes - Database of over 20,000 heritage images from the Alexander Turnbull Library, at the National Library of New Zealand.NZ Content
Further informationUniversity of Otago Digital Collections - Pictures and photographs from university collections. Explore images of pictures and photographs from the Hocken Pictorial Collections and Special Collections.NZ Content

Web sites

Whakapapa web sites

^ Top of page

Iwi web sites

^ Top of page

Te Tiriti o Waitangi web sites

^ Top of page

Te Reo

  • Korero Māori - This site was developed by Te Taura Whiri i te reo Māori, and has resources for learners and speakers of te reo Māori.
  • Whakahuatanga o te reo Māori - Māori Language Pronunciation
  • Ngata Dictionary - Free online dictionary from Learning Media.
  • Te Whanake Online - series of online modules complementing Te Kākano, the first in the Te Whanake series of textbooks for learning Te Reo.

^ Top of page

Government

^ Top of page

Land and Law

^ Top of page

Health

^ Top of page

Education

^ Top of page

Arts & Culture

^ Top of page

University of Otago Links

^ Top of page

Subject directories

^ Top of page

Research guides

 

Last revised: 16 December, 2009