| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Linguistics
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic OneFile Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
|  | Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
|  | Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
|  | JSTOR Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
|  | MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
|  | Project MUSE Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
|
Additional Linguistics databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Encyclopedias
- Cambridge encyclopedia of language - Cen:Ref P 29.CY39 1997
- Concise encyclopedia of language pathology - Med WL 340.2.CS99
- Concise encyclopedia of syntactic theories - Cen:Ref P 291.CQ78 1994
- Dictionary of historical and comparative linguistics - Cen:Ref P 140.TR93
- Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics - Cen:Ref P 29.CY41 2003
- A Dictionary of phonetics and phonology - Cen:Ref P 216.TR97
- Encyclopedia of language and education - Cen:Ref P 40.8.EJ7
- Encyclopedia of language and linguistics - Cen:Ref P 29.EJ7
- Encyclopedia of semiotics - Cen:Ref P 99.EJ5
- Encyclopedia of the languages of Europe - Cen:Ref P 380.EJ7
- Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics - Cen:Ref P 129.EJ7
- Glossary of semiotics - Cen:Ref P 99.CN78
- The Handbook of phonetic sciences - Cen:Ref P 221.H686
- International encyclopedia of linguistics - Cen:Ref P 29.IL3 2003
- Key concepts in language and linguistics - Cen:Ref P 29.TR94
- Linguistics : a guide to the reference literature - Cen:Ref P 121.ZD4 2000
- Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning - Cen:Ref
P 51.RV35
- A student's dictionary of language and linguistics - Cen:Ref P 29.TR97
Subject Classifications
- Language & philosophy: B
- Psycholinguistics: BF
- Linguistics: P 1-1091
- Sociolinguistics: P 40
- Communication: P 87-96
- Linguistic theory: P 101-410
- Language acquisition: P 118-118.7
- Science of language/linguistics: P 121-149
- Comparative grammar: P 201-299
- Linguistic geography: P 375-381
- Modern languages, Celtic languages: PB
- Romanic languages: PC
- Germanic languages: PD
- English language: PE
- IELTS, TESOL, TOEFL: PE 1128
- West Germanic languages: PF
- Slavic, Baltic and Albanian languages: PG
- Uralic and Basque languages: PH
- Oriental philology and literature: PJ
- Indo-Iranian philology and literature: PK
- Languages of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania: PL
- Hyperborean, Indian and artificial languages: PM
- Neurolinguistics: QP
Guides to languages
- Atlas of languages of intercultural communication in the Pacific,
Asia, and the Americas - Cen:Ref P 130.5.AV74
- Atlas of the world's languages - Cen:Atlases P 375.AV74
- Compendium of the world's languages - Cen:Ref P 371.C539 2000
- Ethnologue: languages of the world - Cen:Ref P 371.EU4
- Facts about the world's languages : an encyclopedia of the world's
major languages, past and present - Cen:Ref P 371.F358
Language teaching
^ Top of page
Language tests
^ Top of page
General sites
- Blackwell's bookshops on
the Internet - Comprehensive range of Blackwell's linguistic stock:
description of items and online ordering
- Foundation for Endangered
Languages
- I love languages - Comprehensive
catalogue of 1000+ language-related web resources: language lessons,
translating dictionaries, programmes to aid in learning a language,
data on courses and research into languages & linguistics
- Information
sources: linguistics - Linguistics and phonetics links from Utrecht
University
- LINGUIST List - Comprehensive
information on the linguistics profession, research, publications, pedagogy,
language and linguistics sites, and much more
- Linguistics and
Philology - British Academy directory of online resources for those
in higher education and research
- Linguistics
glossary
- Linguistics in SIL -
Focuses on researching undocumented minority languages, training field
linguists, and providing resources to assist in linguistic data collection
and analysis.
- Linguistics resources
on the Web - Colorado University: other university linguistics departments,
conferences and linguistics sites
- Online dictionaries
- Subject resources for Linguistics
- Publications, onlinE-Journals, e-prints, reference, conferences, general
resources, departments and programs, jobs, funding, associations and
institutes, comprehensive listings, teaching resources, and metasite
- ULSA's
page - Undergraduate Linguistics Student's Association for universities
in the USA
- University College London (UCL)
- phonetics & linguistics - UCL Department of Phonetics &
Linguistics - information on courses as well as useful sites
^ Top of page
Linguistic organisations
Last revised:
9 December, 2009
|