University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Subject Specialist

Kate Thompson
Tel 03 479 8836
Email kate.thompson
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Resources for New Zealand Law

On this page

 

Legislation and Treaties

Public accessActs in Looseleaf Services (NZ)
A finding-aid for New Zealand statutes published in looseleaf services held in the Sir Robert Stout Law Library, 8th floor of the Richardson Building.
NZ Content
Further informationBills of New Zealand (Brookers)
Current bills and access to some older ones, plus SOPs.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessDunedin City Bylaws
Free searchable database of current DCC bylaws
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationLegislation NZ
Legislation as passed (not annotated) plus bills and SOPs.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationLEXIS
Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+).
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessMaori Land Legislation Database
(Works best in Internet Explorer) Free summaries of legislation, 1840-1995, plus commentary etc.(University of Auckland)
NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Company Law and Practice Legislation
Access via CCH: Includes complete legislation for New Zealand company law.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Conveyancing Law and Practice Legislation
Access via CCH: Includes complete legislation for New Zealand conveyancing law.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Employment Law Legislation
Access via CCH: Includes complete legislation for New Zealand employment law.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Legislation
Free, unofficial legislation from the PCO.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Treaty Register
Information about the treaty-making process. Details of Treaty actions January 2000+
NZ Content
Public accessParliamentary Business
For progress of bills, order papers, etc.
NZ Content
Further informationRegulations of New Zealand (Brookers)
New Zealand regulations currently in force.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationSalmon Environmental Law (Brookers)
Annotated core environmental legislation for New Zealand.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationStatutes of New Zealand (Brookers)
Under ‘NZ Law Partner’ find Statutes of NZ (currently in force), statutes as passed (‘Assent legislation’) and historical legislation.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationStatutes of New Zealand (LexisNexis NZ)
Statute reference of New Zealand law.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationSupplementary Order Papers (Brookers)
From 2001 to date
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationSupplementary Order Papers (Knowledge Basket)
Searchable SOPs from Sept 2004
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessTreaty of Waitangi
Fulltext of the Treaty of Waitangi - in English and Maori. The texts are available on campus in the Central and Law Libraries.
Full text | NZ Content

 

^ Top of page

Case law - finding aids

Further informationBriefcase (Brookers)
A comprehensive index of over 124,000 cases, sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals, together with selected leading foreign cases. Includes CiteCase to verify case validity and Findcase for full text.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessDirectory of Decisions
Details about courts, tribunals and their decisions (Waikato University)
NZ Content
Public accessLawCite
International legal case citator with nearly 3 million indexed cases and journal articles.
NZ Content
Further informationLINX (Brookers)
Index of NZ cases, journal articles, books and conference proceedings, 1986 to date. Acts as a catalogue of the Canterbury, Wellington and Auckland District Law Society Libraries. Links to some judgments in full text.
NZ Content
Further informationLINXPlus (LexisNexis NZ)
Searchable index of NZ cases, journal articles, books and conference proceedings, 1986 to date. Acts as a catalogue of the Canterbury, Wellington and Auckland District Law Society Libraries. Links to many judgments in full text.
NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Case Law Digest (Brookers)
Selective index to NZ case law 1986-2004.
NZ Content
Public accessUnreported Judgments Index
Identifies unreported NZ court judgments held in the Law Library at KG/346.(Recent judgments are in set 17 on Close Reserve.)
NZ Content

^ Top of page

Case law - fulltext sources

Public accessACC Appeal Decisions
Contains New Zealand Accident Compensation Appeals with comprehensive coverage from 2001 and some earlier decisions back to 1994.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessAdvertising Standards Authority Decisions
Free database of Advertising Standards Complaints Board Decisions from 2000 on.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessBroadcasting Standards Authority Decisions
Codes of Broadcasting Practice and a searchable free database of decisions on formal complaints from 1994.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessBroadcasting Standards Authority Decisions (NZLII)
Searchable decisions from 1994+.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCCH Company, Corporate & Securities Law
Includes: NZ company law and practice commentary; NZ company law and practice legislation; NZ company law and practice news; NZ company law cases.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCCH Conveyancing and Property Law
Includes: NZ conveyancing and property law news; NZ conveyancing cases; NZ conveyancing law and practice commentary; NZ conveyancing law and practice legislation.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCCH Employment and HR
Includes: NZ employment law cases; NZ employment law commentary; NZ employment law legislation; NZ employment legislation news.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCCH GST
Includes: NZ Goods and Services Tax guide commentary.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCCH Intelliconnect
Access to resources in: Company, corporate & securities law; Conveyancing & property law; Employment and HR; GST; and, Tax.
NZ Content
Further informationCCH Tax
Includes access to New Zealand tax legislation, case law and commentary.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessCommerce Commission
Commerce Commission. Many decisions of the Commission, by category, back to 1997 (Not searchable)
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessCommissioner of Patents, Trade Marks and Designs: Decisions
Click on 'Information Library', then 'Hearings' to access decisions 1953+. 'Indexes' list decisions in date order.
NZ Content
Public accessCopyright Tribunal
Selected decisions from 1977 to date
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessCourt of Appeal decisions (NZLII)
Most of the Court’s judgments, from 1999 to date, in fulltext
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCriminal Cases (Brookers)
A comprehensive database of more than 22,400 reported and unreported case records, sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals. This database also includes the Criminal Reports of New Zealand series.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationCriminal Reports of New Zealand (Brookers)
See: Criminal Cases (via Brookers)
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationEmployment Cases (Brookers)
A comprehensive database of more than 25,000 reported and unreported case records, sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals including decisions from the following specialist Courts and Tribunals: Arbitration Court; Employment Court; Employment Tribunal; Employment Relations Authority; and the Labour Court. This database includes the Employment Reports of New Zealand series, and also combines the former Employment Reports of New Zealand, Employment Headnotes of New Zealand, and Unreported Employment Cases databases into one database.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationEmployment Reports of New Zealand (Brookers)
See: Employment Cases (via Brookers)
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationEnvironmental cases (Brookers)
A comprehensive database of more than 11,000 reported and unreported case records, sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessFamily Court of New Zealand
Includes legislation, decisions, practice and procedure, and forms.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationFamily Law Library NZ (LexisNexis)
Contains "Family Law Service", "Family Law Journal" , "NZ Family Law Reports" and "Fisher on Matrimonial and Relationship Property".
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessHealth & Disability Commissioner
Selected case notes, 2001+ and opinions, 1996+.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessHigh Court (NZLII)
Decisions since August 2005, at NZLII.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessHuman Rights Review Tribunal (NZLII)
Contain the decisions of judges in matters before a court or tribunal from 2002 onward.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessJudicial Decisions of Public Interest - New Zealand
Selected recent decisions from the higher courts, made available very promptly (in PDF format) but retained for only 28 days.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessJudicial Decisions Online
Decisions from selected New Zealand Courts and Tribunals, Supreme Court (All), Court of Appeal (2003 – present), and High Court (August 2005 – present).
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessLegal Aid Review Decisions
Searchable database of decisions
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationLEXIS
Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+).
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessMaori Land Court
Includes free database of selected decisions from 1958 on. See also the Māori Land Court Judgments database and the MLC Minute Book Index, 1865-1910, database at the Law or Hocken Libraries. Hocken has copies of the Minute Books.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessMedical Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal
Decisions are under broad subject headings. (Full text under 'Findings' or 'Additional Orders')
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessMotor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal Decisions (NZLII)
Searchable decisions from 2006+
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Law Reports
The New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR) is the official report series of New Zealand. It includes decisions of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Court of Appeal and High Court.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Maritime Law
Admiralty legislation and cases 1999+.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal
Contains decisions of the New Zealand Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal (NZREADT).
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNZLII: New Zealand Legal Information Institute
Free access to legal information and databases on many aspects of New Zealand law.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessPrivacy Commissioner
Selected case notes from 1994+, listed by year
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessPrivacy Commissioner (NZLII)
Selected decisions from 1996+.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessPrivy Council Judgments
Fulltext of judgments, arranged by date, 1999+
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessRefugee Status Appeals Authority
Free decisions of the Refugee Status Appeals Authority, relevant court judgments and other material.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessSocial Security Appeal Authority Decisions (NZLII)
Searchable decisions from 2003+
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessSports Disputes Tribunal of New Zealand
Decisions of the Tribunal and the Court of Arbitration of Sport.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessSupreme Court
Includes transcripts, decisions and summaries.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessSupreme Court (NZLII)
All decisions (from 2004) from NZLII.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationViewCase (Brookers)
An “add-on” to BriefCase that gives customers access to full text PDFs of over 63,000 judgments from the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Privy Council, Court of Appeal, and High Court. The PDFs are generally searchable and may be downloaded for printing purposes.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessWaitangi Tribunal Reports
Free, searchable, access to most reports.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessYouth Court New Zealand
Summaries of over 300 selected cases, arranged by subject, statute section or date, 1988 on.
Full text | NZ Content

^ Top of page

Commentaries

Public accessActs in Looseleaf Services (NZ)
A finding-aid for New Zealand statutes published in looseleaf services held in the Sir Robert Stout Law Library, 8th floor of the Richardson Building.
NZ Content
Further informationBrookers Criminal Library (Brookers)
‘Adams on Criminal Law’, 'Adams…Sentencing', ‘Criminal Reports of NZ’ and ‘Misuse of Drugs’.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationBrookers Employment Library (Brookers)
Includes reported and unreported cases as well as commentaries on New Zealand Employment law.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationFamily Law Library NZ (LexisNexis)
Contains "Family Law Service", "Family Law Journal" , "NZ Family Law Reports" and "Fisher on Matrimonial and Relationship Property".
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationLaws of New Zealand
Legal encyclopedia. Also in print in the Law Library.
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationMcGechan on Procedure (Brookers)
Commentary on civil procedure in the higher NZ courts
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Company Law and Practice Commentary
Access via CCH
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Conveyancing Law and Practice Commentary
Access via CCH
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationNew Zealand Employment Law Commentary
Access via CCH
Full text | NZ Content

^ Top of page

Government and Parliament

Public accessCabinet Manual
Searchable version of this authoritative free source on constitutional and procedural matters. Supplemented by the Cabinet 'Step-by-Step Guide’.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessDirectory of Official Information
Free access to 2009 edition. Print editions also in University libraries
Full text | NZ Content
Further informationHansard (Knowledge Basket)
Searchable access to three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987 onwards are included, and Oral Questions from 1995 onwards.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessInsurance and Savings Ombudsman
Latest Newsletter and procedural material.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessLaw Commission - NZ
Preliminary Papers (from no 24), Study papers and Reports (from no 34). (Many documents also searchable at the NZLII site)
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessLaw reform papers (pre-1987)
Canterbury University Library's searchable repository including documents pre-dating the establishment of the Law Commission.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Courts
Information on courts plus selected recent judgments (retained for 28 days)
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Gazette
Free issues, back to 2000. Not searchable
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Government
General gateway
NZ Content
Public accessNew Zealand Parliament
Official website including Select Committee information and Reports; Parliamentary Library publications , including research papers, Bills Digests, and electorate profiles; fact sheets and procedural guides; Hansards from 2003 on; Order Paper; searchable file of Written Questions and Answers.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessOffice of Film & Literature Classification
Free database of film and literature classification decisions from 1963 on.
NZ Content
Public accessOmbudsmen
Latest Annual Report and a Consolidated Index to the Ombudsmen Quarterly Review Te Arotake.
Full text | NZ Content
Public accessStanding Orders of the House of Representatives
Current version. Print edition also in the Law Library. Use the downloads panel to access.
Full text | NZ Content

^ Top of page

Law Journals

To search for articles on NZ law, use the databases on the NZ Law page (also covers newspapers and general journals).

 

^ Top of page

Other Resources

  • An Overview of New Zealand Law - Margaret Greville's brief overview of the legal system and research resources.
  • Auckland District Law Society - Features a legal news section, an excellent list of legal Web sites ('Legal Links'), papers from the Public Issues Committee (under 'Profession/ Committees'), and extracts from recent issues of Law News (under 'Products & Services')
  • Brooker's Legal Directory - Search for a lawyer by name, region or area of expertise.
  • Crime Statistics - Includes links to Police statistics.
  • Human Rights Foundation - Publications and documents and links to related sites.
  • Maori Legal Sites - University of Waikato Law Library's set of links to relevant web sites.
  • New Zealand Law Society - Press releases and other documents, such as (under 'Publications') the Rules of the NZLS and the Rules of Professional Conduct for Barristers and Solicitors.
  • Rules Committee - information about the Rules governing the main NZ courts and proposed changes.

 

Last revised: 15 February, 2010