University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Toby Smrekar
Tel 03 479 7935
Email tobias.smrekar
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Indigenous Studies

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic OneFile
Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
Public accessJournal of the Polynesian Society
The early issues of the Journal contain a rich repository of indigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples.
Public accessNational Library of New Zealand Discovery Search
Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles. Extended sources option also available.
Further informationNew Zealand Index
An index of key New Zealand databases including: Index Auckland, New Zealand Card Index, Bibliography of Published NZ Family Histories, NZ Herald Classified Personals, Index New Zealand, INZART Index, Manukau's Journey, Newzindex, Newspaper Index, NZ Science, and NZ Woman's Weekly Index.
Further informationTe Puna
Search the National Bibliographic Database for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.

Additional Indigenous Studies databases and resources

^ Top of page

Subject classifications

Indigenous peoples are classified in library catalogues and databases as members of ethnic groups which originally populated the country in which they live, and where they are not in control of the government.

  • Ethnology. Social and Cultural Anthropology - GN 301-674
  • Ethnic groups and races - GN 537-674
  • Communities. Classes. Races. - HT 51-1595
  • Colonies and colonization - JV1-5399

^ Top of page

Web sites

  • Indigenous Peoples and the Law (NZ) - Web site of an online institute covering indigenous people and the law hosted by Victoria University of Wellington. The site provides links to recent articles, legislation, reports, cases and Web sites which concern indigenous peoples and the law. There are links to key indigenous Web sites from New Zealand and other countries. A selection of archived articles are made available and the whole site can be searched by keyword using the site search engine.
  • Te Puna Web Directory - NZ Resources - Includes good links to New Zealand, Māori and Pasifik sites.
  • Indigenous Peoples - New Zealand Digital Library - A collection of full text resources from around the world.
  • International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs - An independent international membership organisation staffed by specialists and advisers on indigenous affairs.
  • Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) - Use this excellent subject directory to find good information on Indigenous studies.
  • Centre for World Indigenous Studies - An independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.

Last revised: 9 December, 2009