University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7827
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Human Nutrition

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAMED (Allied & Complementary Medicine) via Ovid
Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.
Further informationMedline via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationMedline via Ovid
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationNutrition and Food Sciences
Sports nutrition, food science and nutrition information literature.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (from CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science via Web of Knowledge
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Human Nutrition databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology - Sci:Ref TX/349/BE78/1999
  • International dictionary of food & cooking - Sci:Ref TX/350/IL3
  • Nutrition and diet therapy reference dictionary - Sci:Q Ref WB/400/l516/1996

Encyclopedias

  • Cambridge world history of food - Sci:Q Ref TX/353/C497
  • Concise encyclopedia of foods and nutrition - Sci:Ref TX/349/CQ78
  • Encyclopaedia of food sciences and nutrition 2nd ed - Sci:Ref TP/368.2/EJ735/2003
  • Encyclopedia of herbs & their uses - Sci:Ref SB/351/H5/B552/1995
  • Encyclopedia of human nutrition - Sci:Ref QP/141/EJ76/1998
  • Encyclopedia of obesity and eating disorders - Sci:Ref WD/210/CA71/2000
  • Encyclopedia of vitamins, minerals & supplements - Sci:Ref QP/771/EJ7/1996

^ Top of page

Handbooks and manuals

  • The Concise NZ food composition tables - Sci:Q Ref TX/551/AV19/1999
  • Cornucopia II: a source book of edible plants - Sci:Ref SB/175/F347/1998
  • CRC Desk reference for nutrition - Sci:Ref QP/141/BF862
  • Food chemicals codex - Sci:Q Ref TP/455/FN89/1996
  • The food chronology - Sci:Ref TX/355/TR63
  • Food composition and nutrition tables 6th ed. - Sci:Ref TX/551/FN89
  • Functional foods:concept to product - Sci TP/370/FZ29
  • Handbook of food additives - Sci:Ref TX/553/A3/H6866
  • Nutrients catalog - Sci:Ref QP/141/NJ36
  • What food is that? and how healthy is it? - Sci:Q Ref TX/353/RQ19

^ Top of page

Web Sites

 

Last revised: 21 January, 2008