| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
History
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest) Provides access to family history via documents from North America, the U.K., Europe, Australia, New Zealand and more. Contains census information, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, and maps.
|  | Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). Leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals.
|  | JSTOR Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
|  | Project MUSE Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
|  | World History in Context A database of information on hundreds of significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
|
Additional History databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Dictionaries
- Chambers biographical dictionary 1997 - Cen:Ref CT/103/CE32/1997
- The Cambridge encyclopedia of China 1991 - Cen:Ref DS/705/C496/1991
- Chronology of women world wide 1997 - Cen:Ref HQ/1122/CJ326
- Chronology of world history 1999 - Cen:Ref D/11/MG97
- The Continuum dictionary of women's biography 1989 - Cen:Ref CT/3202/CR51
- The Dictionary of national biography (UK) 1908+ - Cen:Ref DA/28/DJ212/1996
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages - Cen:Ref D/114/DJ21
- The Dictionary of 20th century world politics 1993- Cen:Ref JA/61/SG97
- A Dictionary of twentieth century history 1914-1990 1992 - Cen:Ref
D/419/T774
- Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350-2000 - Cen:Ref HN/373/EJ7
- Encyclopedia of historians and historical writing 1999 - Cen:Ref D/14/EJ76
- Environmental encyclopedia 1994 - Cen:Ref GE/10/EL42
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War 1994 - Cen:Ref D/843/AQ42
- Encyclopedia of the Third World 4th ed 1992 - Cen:Ref HC/59.7/KY8/1992
- Japan: an illustrated encyclopedia 1993 - Cen:Ref DS/805/JB3
- Oxford companion to politics of the world 2001 -Cen:Ref JA/61/OZ5
- Oxford dictionary of
national biography - Cen:Ref DA28/DJ212/2004
^ Top of page
Historical statistics: compilations
- British historical statistics - Cen:Ref HA/1134/MN69
- International historical statistics, Europe, 1750-1998 - Cen:Ref HA/1107/MN69/1992
Historical atlases and gazeteers
- The Columbia gazetteer of the world - Cen:Atlases + G/103.5/CQ16
- Hammond atlas of the 20th century 1996 - Cen:Ref Atlas G/1021/H26/1996
- The Times atlas of world history 4th ed 1993 - Cen:Ref Atlas G/1030/
T5/ 1993
^ Top of page
Microfilms and newspapers
- New York Times (with index) 1975+ - Microfilm fulltext and print index
near the microforms - Reference area.
- Otago Daily Times 1901+
- Time (magazine) 1923+ - Microfilm fulltext - in microforms - Reference
area.
- Times (London) 1861+ - Cen:Mfm 5/65/T and print index near the microforms
- Reference area.
- The
Times Digital Archive 1795-1987
^ Top of page
Web sites
Last revised:
21 January, 2008
|