University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Richard German
Tel 03 479 7403
Email richard.german
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Health Sciences Web Resources

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationACP (American College of Physicians) Journal Club (EBM Reviews, OvidSP)
Consists of two journals ACP Journal Club, and Evidence-Based Medicine., available via EBM Reviews via Ovid or through the Library Catalogue as individual journals.
Further informationACP (American College of Physicians) Journal Club (via Library Catalogue)
Consists of two journals ACP Journal Club, and Evidence-Based Medicine., available via EBM Reviews via Ovid or through the Library Catalogue as individual journals.
Further informationBMJ Learning
BMJ Learning provides online evidence based learning resources for professionals in primary care and hospital medicine
Further informationCINAHL (EBSCOhost)
An authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Further informationCochrane Library (Wiley)
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systmatic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationDynamed
Represents a synthesis of the best available evidence. Monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity, with new evidence then integrated with existing content.
Further informationEMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OvidSP)
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Further informationHarrison's Online
Online version of the key textbook Harrison's principles of internal medicine via AccessMedicine.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
Further informationMartindale(OvidSP)
Access via Books@Ovid. Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care.
Further informationMDConsult Australia/First Consult
Includes over 50 medical texts, articles from more than 80 journals and The Clinics of North America, practice guidelines, drug information, 10,000 patient education handouts, and daily medical updates customized to your specialty. First Consult is an evidence-based, clinical information system designed for use at the point-of-care.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationOvid
A collection of databases covering medicine, pharmacy, psychology, education, philosophy, food science and technology, art and textiles.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationPubMed
An online citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationUpToDate
A clinical reference tool providing specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment. Accessible from Dunedin on-campus computers. Medical students can now gain off-campus access to UpToDate through Moodle. Users are required to accept licence conditions. Online demo available
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Health Sciences databases and resources

^ Top of page

Directories

^ Top of page

Free e-journals

^ Top of page

Etexts & conferences

^ Top of page

Government & health organisations

^ Top of page

Health statistics

^ Top of page

New Zealand health sites

^ Top of page

Podcasts

  • Johns Hopkins PodMed - weekly podcast, starting in 2005, looking at the top medical stories of the week from Rick Lange M.D., chief of clinical cardiology at Johns Hopkins.  Topics include cardiology, diabetes, hypertension, depression and more.

 

Last revised: 15 May, 2009