| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Geology
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Current Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge) Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
|  | GeoRef (ProQuest) Provides access to over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
|  | GeoScienceWorld A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
|  | Lyell Collection Full-text publications in the Earth Sciences from the Geological Society of London, featuring complete journal archives, special publications and book series. Cross-linked to GeoRef and ISI databases.
|  | ScienceDirect Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
|  | SciFinder Scholar (CAS) First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
|  | SciFinder Scholar (registration) First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
|  | Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
|  | Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
|
Additional Geology databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
^ Top of page
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of earth science (2005) - Sci:Ref QE 5.KZ1
- Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes (2001) - Sci:Ref QE 521.RK86 2001
- Encyclopedia of European and Asian regional geology (1997) - Sci:Ref QE 260.EJ7
- Encyclopedia of geomorphology (2004) - Sci:Ref GB 400.3.EJ8
- Encyclopedia of geology (2005)
- Encyclopedia of mineral names (1997) - Sci:Ref QE 357.BL66
- Encyclopedia of ocean science (2001)
- Encyclopedia of paleontology (1999) - Sci:Ref QE 703.EJ73
- Encyclopedia of quarterly science (2007)
- Encyclopedia of sediments and sedimentary rocks (2003) - Sci:Ref QE 471.2.EJ7
- Oxford companion to the earth (2001)
^ Top of page
Web sites
- American Geophysical Union
- Earth Pages - News, publications,
links to resource centres and organizations
- Geokem, geochemical data analysis
program
- Geological Society - London
Picture library and links to directories and information sources
- Geological Society New Zealand
- GeoNet - Provides public access to hazards information, and allows the retrieval of fundamental data sets, such as GPS Rinex files, earthquake hypocentres and instrument waveform data.
- Institute of Geological and Nuclear
Sciences Ltd. (IGNS)- Useful NZ site with historical information
and links to research in Antarctica.
- Links
for mineralogists
- Multidisciplinary centre for earthquake
engineering research
- Scitopia - Search the electronic libraries of 15 leading science and technology societies, including the American Geophysical Union, the American Institute of Physics, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and SPIE.
- Te
Puna Web Directory - Science & Technology
- University
of Otago Geology Department
- US Geological Survey Library
- Volcano Watch - Hawaiian
Volcano Observatory
- Volcano World
Last revised:
12 May, 2010
|