University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Toby Smrekar
Tel 03 479 7935
Email tobias.smrekar
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Geography (Human)

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic OneFile
Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationArts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Further informationBiological Sciences (ProQuest)
This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationGeoRef (ProQuest)
Provides access to over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
Further informationJSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
Further informationProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationSciVerse
A single search interface that integrates ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciTopics and targeted Web content, with community developed applications.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Geography databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Conservation and environmentalism: an encyclopedia - Cen:Ref GE 10.CR28 1995
  • Dictionary of geography - Cen:Ref G 63.SL66 1999
  • Dictionary of human geography - Cen:Ref GF 4.DJ21 2000
  • Encyclopedia of environmetrics 4 vol -Cen:Ref GE 45.S73 EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of world geography 24 vol - Cen:Ref G 63.EJ7 2002
  • Environment dictionary - Cen:Ref GE 10.KA2
  • Environmental encyclopedia - Cen:Ref GE 10.EL42 2003
  • Environmental profiles: a global guide to projects & people - Cen:Ref GE 1.K61 1993
  • European environmental almanac 1995 - Cen:Ref GE 190.E85 EW5
  • A feminist glossary of human geography - Cen:Ref G 63.FA19
  • Geographical digest - Cen:Ref G 1.G335 1998-99
  • Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online - online gazetteer
  • GIS Dictionary
  • International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
  • Modern dictionary of geography 3rd ed - Cen:Ref G 63.SL91 1995
  • Style Guide for Human Geography - (20K in PDF format)
  • World factbook (CIA) 2005
  • Worldmark Yearbook 3 vol - Cen:Ref G 63.WX26 2001

^ Top of page

Subject classifications

  • Anthropology: GN
  • Commerce: HC-HJ
  • Geography: G
  • Geography: Bliss (109 Leith St): KT-KZ
  • History/area studies - Canada & Latin America: F
  • History/area studies - Europe, Asia, Africa, Aust.: D
  • History/area studies - USA: E
  • Human geography: GF
  • Politics: J
  • Recreation & tourism: GV
  • Sociology: HM
  • Statistics: HA

 

^ Top of page

Official Publications

  • Appendices to the journals of the House of Representatives (eg. the Annual report of the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment is C12)
  • Directory of official information - Cen:Ref JQ 5821.DK86
  • Key statistics, Hot off the press etc. - Cen:Ref Census data 1874+
  • New Zealand government directory - Cen:Ref JQ 5824.NH29 2003
  • New Zealand official yearbook 1892+ Web 1999 only - Cen:Ref 3T5w N
  • NZ Parliamentary publications - Cen:Ref 3OC5
  • New Zealand Statutes (Acts of Parliament) - Cen:Ref 3OC5
  • Statistics New Zealand publications - Cen:Ref 3T5w...

^ Top of page

Web sites

Geography publications

  • Current geographical publications - updated monthly, a comprehensive guide to articles recently published in geography journals, as well as recently published maps and geographical books

Geography sites

^ Top of page

New Zealand geography resources

 

Last revised: 9 December, 2009