| Database key |
|
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
General Science
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | ScienceDirect Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
|  | Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
|  | Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
|
Additional General Science databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Abbreviations
- Acronyms, initialisms and abbreviations dictionary - Sci:Q Ref PE/1693/A539
- CASSI (Chemical abstracts service source index) - Sci:Q Reference
table QD/31/ZC45
Conferences
- For conference summaries and reviews, search Scopus, Web of Science or subject-specific databases. For complete proceedings, search the Library Catalogue.
^ Top of page
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Sci:Q Ref AE/5/EJ6/1994
- Encyclopedia of chemical technology - Sci:Q Ref TP/9/EJ7/1998
- Encyclopedia of materials - Sci:Ref TA/402/EJ7
- Encyclopedia of physical science and technology - Sci:Q Ref Q/123/EJ7/2002
- Encyclopedia of the Arctic - Sci:Ref/G/606/EJ9
- Encyclopedia of the biosphere - Sci:Ref QH/343.4/BL24
- Grzimek’s Animal life encyclopedia Sci:Q Ref QL/7/GW36
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of science and technology - Sci:Q Ref Q/121/M378/2002
- Photography encyclopedia - Sci:Ref TR/9/M332
- ScienceDirect Reference Works Collection (See ScienceDirect in Databases section)
- Van Nostrand Scientific encyclopedia - Sci:Q Ref Q/121/V825/2002
^ Top of page
Guides to scientific writing and research
- Electronic styles: a handbook for citing electronic information -
Sci:Ref PN /171/F56/LP24/1996
- New Oxford thesaurus of English - Sci:Q Ref PE/1591/NH32
- Oxford dictionary for scientific writers and editors - Sci:Q Ref T/11/OZ5
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
- Sci:Q Ref BF/76.7/AG49/2001
- Research methods for postgraduates 2nd ed - Sci:Ref Q/180.55/M4/RD745/2002
- Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers Sci:Q Ref T/11/SD21/2002
- Visual explanations - Sci:Q Ref P/93.5/TW69/1997
- Writing in Science - A tutorial from Monash University.
^ Top of page
Web resources
Last revised:
21 January, 2008
|