University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search
Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Food Science

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationFSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts (OvidSP)
FSTA provides bibliographic information and abstracts from the international literature on food science, food technology, and human nutrition.
Further informationHistorical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). Leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationMedline (ProQuest)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationNutrition and Food Sciences
Sports nutrition, food science and nutrition information literature.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Food Science databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology 7th ed - Sci:Ref TX/349/BE78/1999
  • Chef's companion 3rd ed- Sci:Ref TX/349/RJ25/2003
  • Facts on file dictionary of biotechnology and genetic engineering - Sci:Ref TP/248.16/ST393/2001
  • International dictionary of food & cooking - Sci:Ref TX/350/IL3

^ Top of page

Encyclopedias

  • Concise encyclopedia of foods and nutrition -Sci:Ref TX/349/CQ78
  • Encyclopedia of bioprocess technology -Sci:Ref TP/248.31/FL393
  • Encycyclopedia of food microbiology -Sci:Ref QR/115/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition 2nd ed. -Sci:Ref TP/368.2/EJ735/2003
  • Encyclopedia of human nutrition -Sci:Ref QP/141/EJ76
  • Encyclopedia of life sciences
  • The New Sotheby's wine encyclopedia -Sci:Ref TP/548/SU526
  • Wiley encyclopedia of food science and technonolgy -Sci:Ref TP/368.2/EJ73/2000

Handbooks and manuals

  • Bailey's Industrial Oils & Fats, 6th ed. - Six volume set online.
  • The concise New Zealand food composition tables 6th ed. -Sci: Oversize Floor 1 +TX/551/AV19/2003
  • CRC Desk reference for nutrition -Sci:Ref QP/141/BF862
  • Food chemicals codex -Sci:Q Ref TP/455/FN89/1996
  • The Food chronology -Sci:Ref TX/355/TR63
  • Food composition and nutrition tables 6th ed -Sci:Ref TX/551/FN89
  • Handbook of food additives -Sci:Q Ref TX/553/A3/H6866
  • Oxford companion to food -Sci:Q Ref TX/349/D751
  • Oxford companion to wine 2nd ed  -Sci:Ref TP/548/OZ5/1999 
  • Source book of flavors 2nd ed. -Sci:Ref TP/418/SP98/1994
  • What food is that? How healthy is it? -Sci:Q Ref TX/353/RQ19

 

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 18 December, 2008