University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Electronic Access Help

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Trial Databases

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Catherine Robertson
Tel 03 479 8915
Email catherine.robertson
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Finance & Quantitative Analysis

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAudit Analytics
Audit Analytics is accessible via a registered email address/password combination. To request access, send an email from your "otago.ac.nz" email address to: thardy@ivesinc.com. Access detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms.
Further informationBloomberg
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. A leading global provider of data, news and analytical information. It provides both real-time and archived financial and market data, pricing, trading, news and communication tools in a single, integrated package.
Further informationCompustat Global Data (Standard & Poor's)
Access via Compustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight interface. Provides international data from the last 20 years of annual and the last 12 years of semiannual fundamental data on active and inactive global companies. Also provides the last 20 years of monthly price history on active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCompustat North America Data/Price History (Standard & Poor's)
Access via Compustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight interface. Provides access to the last 20 years of annual and the last 12 years of quarterly data on active and inactive U.S. and Canadian companies. Also provides access to the last 10 years of daily and the last 20 years of monthly price history on active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCompustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight
An analytical software interface used to access Compustat North America Data/Price History, Compustat Global Data and additional Back Data files for North America Data. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCRSP US Stock Database (Centre for Research in Security Prices)
Access via CRSPSift interface. Contains stock history back to 1925 with daily and monthly data on all listed NYSE, AMEX, NYSE Amex US, NASDAQ, and NYSE ARCA common stocks along with basic market indices. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCRSP/Compustat Merged Database (CCM)
Access via CRSPSift interface. Provides concurrent database access to CRSP's stock data and Compustat's fundamental data for active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationdirectEDGAR
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. Designed specifically for academic researchers trying to find and collect data from SEC (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) filings.
Further informationEmerald
The Emerald Management Extra (EMX) collection includes more than 200 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals. Also included is access to the Emerald Backfiles - the full digitized archive of Emerald journal titles in business, management, library and information services, materials sciences and engineering.
Further informationEventus
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. Eventus provides event-orientated data retrieval and performs event study estimation and testing using the CRSP stock database.
Further informationFactiva
Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
Public accessFactiva (training)
Training access only. Training username and password required.
Further informationInternational Financial Statistics Online (IMF)
Select IFS as Data source. International statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Further informationNZX Company Research (formerly Datex)
Lists New Zealand company information and provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data.
Further informationOSIRIS (Global Quoted Companies)
Browser must allow pop-ups. A comprehensive database of 46,000 listed companies from 190 countries. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement and ratios, it contains a wide range of complementary information such as ownership, subsidiaries, and ratings. Also contains SEC (Edgar) filings and Global Reports.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Public accessSocial Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.

Additional Finance databases and resources

^ Top of page

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias

Dictionaries

Encyclopaedias

Try searching the Catalogue for more dictionaries and encyclopaedias related to finance and quantitative analysis.

^ Top of page

Statistics

New Zealand

  • New Zealand official year book – Cen:Ref 3T5w N
  • Statistics for Universities - NZ universities' research staff and student access to specialised statistical products and data packages.
  • Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFS) - data from New Zealand and Australia.
  • Customised data - key Statistics NZ publications and quarterly seminars.
  • Long-term data (1840-2004) - collected together by staff at Treasury to provide a general reference source of information on demographic, social and economic trends in New Zealand.

Census data

International

Information about statistics

Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet, for more statistical information related to finance and quantitative analysis.

^ Top of page

Country information

Country surveys – descriptions & statistics

  • CIA world fact book
  • Europa world plus
  • Europa world year book – Cen:Ref D839.E85
  • The Far East and Australasia (40th ed) : Europa Regional Surveys of the World – Cen:Ref DS 1.F3

Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet, for more country information.

^ Top of page

Finance & quantitative analysis and New Zealand

Government information

Directories and Guides

Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet, for more information about finance and quantitative analysis and New Zealand.

^ Top of page

Share prices & stock exchange

Try searching the internet for more information on share prices and stock exchanges.

^ Top of page

Company information

New Zealand

International

  • Hoovers – search for companies, people or industry

Analysing company financial information

Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet, for more information about companies.

^ Top of page

Organisations & Associations

Organisations

Associations

Try searching the internet for more organisations, associations and research institutes related to finance and quantitative analysis.

^ Top of page

Related Information

University of Otago

Related Subject Guides including...

^ Top of page

Last revised: 28 May, 2010