| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
English
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic OneFile Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
|  | JSTOR Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
|  | LION: Literature Online A literary database of poetry, prose and drama in English. Content includes specialist journals, bibliographic records, and full-text works as well as MLA International Bibliography, Concise Oxford Dictionary, Webster’s Dictionary, Shakespeare Glossary, and King James Bible. Tutorial available via LION Online Demo
|  | Literature Resource Center - LRC, Scribner, Twayne US, Twayne English, and Twayne World Authors Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
|  | MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
|  | Project MUSE Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
|
Additional English databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
^ Top of page
Web sites
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic
Texts - Digital documents from American & English literature
and Western philosophy. Fulltext. Multiple documents can be searched
simultaneously. PDF files give readable documents for printing.
- The
Australian Literature Database - 18th, 19th and early 20th century
texts University of Sydney. 90 fulltext Australian literary, historical
and political works. Texts are searchable for keywords and phrases,
and can be browsed by author's names.
- Bartleby Verse: American
and English Poetry, 1250-1920 - Searchable by keyword or browsable by
author (chronological or alphabetical), title, or first line.
- Blake digital
text project - Maintained by Nelson Hilton, Professor of English
at the University of Georgia-Athens. Includes fulltext of David V. Erdman's
The Complete Poetry and Prose of William Blake, and hypertext versions
of Songs of Innocence and of Experience.
- British
women romantic poets (1789-1832) - University of California Davis
Library's Kohler Collection of British Poetry. 36 texts via a listing
of authors; some whole books, others single poems.
- The Burns Encyclopedia
- Fulltext, e-version of "the definitive Robert Burns reference
volume".
- Chaucer: An Annotated Guide
to Online Resources - David Wilson-Okamura, PhD candidate (Uni of Chicago),
compiled a selective guide of brief annotations covering all aspects
of Chaucerian scholarship: includes bibliographies, images and illustrations,
and etexts.
- ClassicBookshelf -
Works listed by author - some classic British & American literature,
with lots of Charles Dickens. Author entries give related sites.
- The EServer -
E server at University of Washington: fulltext of 10,000+ texts
in many Humanities disciplines.
- Gulliver's
travels - Text of 1726 Motte ed. with corrections from 1735 Faulkner
ed. - links to additional resources. Includes quotes, a list of Swift's
neologisms, illustrations from other editions, and a time line.
- Internet
resources for English and American literature - Uni of Connecticut:
English and American literature. Includes a subject listing of sites
ranging from Old English and medieval literature through to the twentieth
century.
- Jane Austen - "The
Republic of Pemberley". Select the "Jane Austen Information
page" link.
- Legends - Guided access to
primary source material and recent scholarship (NB: not Greek myth).
- Milton at Otago
- New Zealand Literature File -
A selective list of New Zealand and Pacific authors' work, with references to biographical and critical material. Compiled by University of Auckland Library staff to assist students enrolled in courses for New Zealand Literature.
- OnLine books
page -
Index of thousands of online books and common repositories of online
books and other documents.
- OzLit - Fully searchable
database of Australian writers, e-texts of Australian classics etc.
An excellent resource.
- Project Gutenberg 1981+ - Paper
editions in the public domain in eformat. 10,000+ titles in plain ASCII
format. Searchable by author, titles, language and subject. Not the
home of scholarly editions but useful if a title is missing from the
library.
- Shakespeare
- Complete works of William Shakespeare + links to other Shakespeare
resources on the Internet.
- Te
Puna - NZ Subject Directory: Arts and Literature
- Twentieth-century
authors - College & Research Libraries News Dec 1999.
Twentieth-century authors- biographic and bibliographic information.
- University of Otago: Department
of English
Last revised:
9 December, 2009
|