| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Education
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic OneFile Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
|  | Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
|  | ERIC (ProQuest) A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
|  | Index New Zealand New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
|  | Journal Surf Online catalogue of the School Journal and other resources. Contact Library HelpDesk for username/password.
|  | ProQuest Central A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
|
Additional Education databases and resources
^ Top of page
Reference
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of British education - Cen:Ref LA 632.GN13
- The Facts on file dictionary of education - Cen:Ref LB 15.SG96
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education - Cen:Ref LB 15.GT27
- A Guide to English educational terms - Cen:Ref LB 15.GN13
Encyclopedias
- Education and sociology: an encyclopedia - Cen:Ref LC 189.95.E75
- Encyclopedia of education 10 vols - Cen:Ref LB 15.D989
- Encyclopedia of educational research - Cen:Ref LB 15.EJ73 1992
- Encyclopedia of special education 3 vols - Cen:Ref LC 4007.EJ7 2000
- The International encyclopedia of education 2nd ed - Cen:Ref LB 15.IL29 1994
- International encyclopedia of the sociology of education - Cen:Ref
LC 191.IL33
Subject classifications
- Library of Congress Classifications for Education
- L - Education
- LA - History of Education
- LB - Theory and practice of Education
- LB1523 - 1999 - Curriculum
- LB2806.15 - Curriculum planning
- LB1705 - 2286 - Education and training of teachers and administrators
- LB1050.9 – 1091 - Educational psychology
- LB2300 – 2430 - Higher Education
- LB1501 – 1547 - Primary Education
- LB2801 – 3095 - School administration and planning
- LB1603 – 1696 - Secondary education
- LB1025 – 1050 - Teaching (principles and practice)
- LC - Special aspects of teaching
- LD - United States
- LF - Europe
- LG - Asia, Africa, Oceania
- LG715 - 720 - Australia
- LG741 - 745 - New Zealand
- LG961 - Pacific Islands
- Dewey Decimal Classifications for Education (used at The Bill Robertson Library)
- 155 - Human Development
- 370 - Education
- 370.15 - Educational psychology
- 370.19345 - Sex differences in education
- 370.993 - Education – New Zealand – History
- 371 - School management; Special Education
- 371.9046 - Mainstreaming in Education
- 372 - Elementary education
- 372.1 - Education, Primary
- 372.21 - Education, Preschool
- 373 - Secondary education
- 374 - Adult Education
- 375 - Curriculum planning
- 376 - Education of women
- 377 - Schools and religion
- 378 - Higher Education
- 379 - Government regulation, control, support
^ Top of page
Web sites
New Zealand
General
- Buros - Test
Reviews Online
- Center Research Site -
reports and publications from 12 National Research and Development Centers
of the US Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and
Improvement. Focus is early childhood development and learning, cultural
and linguistic diversity, second language learning, adult learning and
education policy.
- College
and University home pages - geographic - Useful for finding university
homepages throughout the world - and thereby staff emails, etc.
- Education-line - Electronic
texts in education & training - Brotherton Library, University
of Leeds
- Educator's Reference Desk - AskERIC,
includes the 2000 lesson plans, 3000 value-added pointers to education
information & organizations, and 200 question archives you have
been accessing at askeric.org. Links to ERIC database and to Info Guides,
Conference Calendar, Lesson Plans.
- ERIC Digests
Index Page - ERIC is a nationwide education information system (US
Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement).
Search the entire ERIC Digests database from the index page.
- ETS Test Collection
- Includes an extensive library of 20,000 tests and other measurement
devices from the early 1900s to the present.
- Explorations in Learning and Instruction:
The Theory into Practice Database - Introduction to key theories
on learning and development.
- OECD
Education - Education indicators and skills, management, lifelong
learning, ICT, etc.
University and private lists
- AARE - (Australian Association for Research in Education)
- links to conferences, publications ands newsletters that foster excellence in educational research in Australia.
- Australian Council for
Educational Research (ACER)
- ACER Library
- ACER
Thesis Database
- CPSR
Education - Coded for teachers and parents, activists, computer
software developers.
- Education world: where educators
go to learn - Commercial site with links to lesson planning, books
in education, and lots more.
- EdWeb: exploring technology
and school reform - Described by Harvard Educational Review as
"An intelligent, detailed, informed and practical guide, both to
education related issues concerning the Internet, and to educational
resources on the World Wide Web...."
- EdNA Online - Australia's
gateway to resources and services for education and training
- HITLab:
Human Interface Technology Lab: Education Internet resources - Wide
selection of sites such as US Department of Education and usenet groups.
- MEL: Michigan Electronic
Library Education site
- NZARE (New Zealand Association for Research in Education)
- links to conferences, publications ands newsletters that foster excellence in educational research in Aotearoa-New Zealand.
-
- University
of Indiana Language Education - Language & linguistics, ESL,
reading & writing, adult literacy, foreign language, sign language.
- University
of Otago Education Faculty
Educational psychology
- EdPsyc Junction -University
of Miami: tutorial on the Mental Measurements Yearbook, bibliography
of print resources, syllabus collections, class handouts/assignments,
and Educational Psychology.
Special education
Last revised:
30 March, 2010
|