| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Economics
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Full text journal coverage in all disciplines of business, including: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
|  | Econlit (EBSCOhost) EconLit indexes the international literature in the field of economics.
|  | Emerald The Emerald Management Extra (EMX) collection includes more than 200 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals. Also included is access to the Emerald Backfiles - the full digitized archive of Emerald journal titles in business, management, library and information services, materials sciences and engineering.
|  | Factiva Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
|  | International Financial Statistics Online (IMF) Select IFS as Data source. International statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
|  | NZX Company Research (formerly Datex) Lists New Zealand company information and provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data.
|  | OECD Main Economic Indicators Presents comparative statistics that provide an overview of recent international economic developments through the presentation of a wide range of short-term economic indicators for the OECD member countries, 5 area totals and selected non-member countries.
|  | OSIRIS (Global Quoted Companies) Browser must allow pop-ups. A comprehensive database of 46,000 listed companies from 190 countries. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement and ratios, it contains a wide range of complementary information such as ownership, subsidiaries, and ratings. Also contains SEC (Edgar) filings and Global Reports.
|  | Social Science Research Network (SSRN) SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.
|  | World Development Indicators (WDI) & Global Development Finance (GDF) World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
|
Additional Economics databases and resources
^ Top of page
Dictionaries and Encyclopaedia
Dictionaries
Encyclopaedias
- Concise encyclopedia of economics (2008) - Cen:Ref H B61.CQ78 2008
- Encyclopedia of business and finance (2001) - Cen:Ref HF 1001.EJ73
- The Oxford encyclopedia of economic history (2003) - Cen:Ref HC 15.OZ53
- The Palgrave encyclopedia of world economic history since 1750 (2010) - Cen:Ref HB 61.B6272
- Te Ara: The Encyclopaedia of New Zealand - contains sections about
Economic History and Geography including information about; Economic Thought, Regional Economies, and Māori in the Economy.
Try searching the Catalogue for more dictionaries and encyclopaedias related to economics.
^ Top of page
Statistics
New Zealand
- New Zealand official year book - Central (Ref): 3T5w N
- Statistics New Zealand
- Infoshare - available from the Statistics New Zealand website. Includes statistics relating to Economic Indicators, and Work income and Spending.
- Statistics for Universities - NZ universities' research staff and student access to specialised statistical products and data packages.
- Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFS) - data from New Zealand and Australia.
- Customised data - key Statistics NZ publications and quarterly seminars.
- Long-term data (1840-2004) - collected together by staff at Treasury to provide a general reference source of information on demographic, social and economic trends in New Zealand.
Census data
International
Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases and the internet, for more statistical information related to economics.
^ Top of page
Country Information
Country surveys – descriptions & statistics
- Europa world plus
- Europa world year book (2008) - Cen:Ref D 839.E85
- CIA world fact book
- The Far East and Australasia (40th ed): Europa Regional Surveys of the World (2009) - Cen:Ref DS 1.F3
Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases and the internet, for more country information.
^ Top of page
Economics in New Zealand
Government information
Directories & Agencies
Environmental Economics
Macroeconomics & Microeconomics
- Principles of macroeconomics in New Zealand (2009) – Cen:Books HB 172.5.M85664 2009
- Introduction to microeconomics (2002) - Cen:Res HB 172.WW194 2002
Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet for more information about economics in New Zealand.
^ Top of page
Organisations, Associations, & Research Institutions
Organisations
Associations
Research Institutions
Try searching the internet for more organisations, associations and research institutes related to economics.
^ Top of page
Related Information
University of Otago
Related Subject Guides including...
^ Top of page
Last revised:
30 August, 2010
|