University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Ecology

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAquaculture Compendium
An encyclopedic, mixed media resource covering all aspects of aquaculture. It addresses issues of aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, poverty alleviation, livelihoods and much more.
Further informationASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
Further informationBiological Sciences (ProQuest)
This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Further informationProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing “deep indexing”.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
Further informationZoological Record (Web of Knowledge)
Provides comprehensive coverage of zoological literature from 6,500+ international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports.

Additional Environment & Ecology databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of civil and environmental engineering - Sci:Ref TA/9/WC22 
  • Dictionary of ecology and the environment - Sci:Ref QH/540.4/CP47/2001
  • Dictionary of environmental science and technology 3rd ed - Sci:Q Ref GE/10/PU33/2000
  • Encyclopaedic dictionary of environmental change - Sci:Ref GE/10/EJ7

Encyclopedias

  • Conservation and environmentalism - Sci:Ref GE/10/CR282
  • Cooper's comprehensive environmental desk reference - Sci:Ref GE/123/CS13
  • Encyclopedia of biodiversity - Sci:Ref QH/541.15/B56/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of evironmental issues - Sci:Ref GE/10/EJ75
  • Encyclopedia of environmental science - Sci:Ref GE/10/EJ8
  • Encyclopedia of ecology and environmental management - Sci:Ref GE/300/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of global change - Sci:Ref GE/149/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of rainforests - Sci:Ref QH/ 86/JX5
  • Wiley encyclopedia of energy and the environment - Sci:Ref TJ/163.235/WN55

Directories and guides

  • American environmental leaders -Sci:Ref GE/55/BC55
  • Environmental literature -Sci:Ref GE/35/EL3
  • Manual of environmental microbiology -Sci: + QR/100/M9196/2002

^ Top of page

Web sites

Last revised: 21 January, 2008