University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Design Studies

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic OneFile
Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationArt Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive resource for art information with indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984.
Further informationArts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Further informationDAAI - Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
International index for design and studio art related journals. Useful for object, sculpture, jewellery, photography, architecture, interior design and design theory research.
Further informationIndex New Zealand
New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.

Additional Design Studies databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Collins dictionary of art terms & techniques 1993 - Cen:Ref N/33/MF24/1993
  • Design encyclopedia 1994 - Cen:Ref NK/1370/BZ74
  • Dictionary of 20th-century design 1990 - Cen:Ref NK/1390/PL97
  • Dictionary of art (Grove) 34 vol 1996 - Cen:Ref N/31/DJ19
  • Directory of designers 1991 - Cen:Ref NK/1443/DK86/1991
  • Encyclopedia of comparative iconography...2 vol 1998 - Cen:Ref N/7560/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design 2001 - Cen:Ref SB/465/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of interior design 2 vol 1997 - Cen:Ref NK/1704/B616
  • Essential design 1992 - Cen:Ref NK/30/M332
  • GATF encyclopedia of graphic communications 1998 - Cen:Ref Z/118/G145
  • Illustrated dictionary of symbols in eastern and western art 1994 - Cen:Ref N/7740/H494/1994
  • Materials and techniques in the decorative art: an illustrated dictionary 2000 - Cen:Ref NK/30/MD51
  • Penguin dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture 1999 - Cen:Ref NA/31/FK84/1999

^ Top of page

Web resources

 

Last revised: 27 March, 2009

27 March, 2009