University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Richard German
Tel 03 479 7403
Email richard.german
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Dentistry

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationCINAHL (EBSCOhost)
An authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Further informationCochrane Library (Wiley)
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systmatic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationPubMed
An online citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Dentistry databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

  • Concise encyclopedia of periodontology (2007) – Den:Books WU 240.VD77
  • Drug information handbook for dentistry (2009) – Den:Ref QV 50.WZ68
  • Glossary of orthodontic terms (2000) – Den:Ref WU 15.DD39
  • Glossary of periodontal terms (2001) – Den:Ref WU 240.GN36
  • Harty's dental dictionary (2007) – Den:Ref WU 13.H337
  • Mosbys dental drug reference (2008) – Den:Ref QV 50.GA83
  • Oxford handbook of clinical dentistry (2005) – Den:Ref WU 49.MR89
  • Register of oral health practitioners (2007) – Den:Ref WU 22.N533
  • Stedman's medical dictionary for the dental professions (2007) – Den:Ref WU 13.SU62

Try searching the Catalogue for more dictionaries, encyclopaedias and companions related to dentistry.

^ Top of page

Dentistry in New Zealand

Directories

Associations

Government information

Try searching the Catalogue, Article Databases, and the internet, for more information about dentistry in New Zealand.

Web sites

 

Last revised 14 May, 2010