| Database key |
Further information
Public database
Trial database
|
|
» Home > Research > Subject
Guides >
Classics
On this page
Other resources
Databases & indexes
 | Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
|  | Brill's New Pauly Online Covering the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to Late Antiquity. Comprehensive information on persons, places, institutions, events, artefacts, technical terms, ideas, and concepts.
|  | JSTOR Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
|  | MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
|  | Perseus Digital Library An integrated collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The collection contains diverse resources including primary (in the original language and in translation) and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser documents vases, sculptures, coins, building, and gems.
|  | Project MUSE Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
|  | ProQuest Central A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
|
Additional Classics databases and resources
^ Top of page
Key print indexes
- L'année épigraphique - Cen:Ref CN 510.ZA5
- L'année philologique - Cen:Ref PA 3001.ZC6 Ser 3
- SEG: Supplementum epigraphicum graecum - Cen:Ref CN 340.ZS93
^ Top of page
Reference
- Ancient Greece and Rome an encyclopedia for students - Cen:Books DE 5.AH63
- Atlas of classical archaeology - Cen:Atlas G 1046.E15 A8
- Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world - Cen:Atlas ++ G 1033.B3 2000
- Brewer's dictionary of phrase and fable 2005 - Cen:Ref PN 43.BU47 2005
- Brill's New Pauly: encyclopaedia of the ancient world - Cen:Ref DE 5.NF66
- Cassell's new Latin dictionary 1968 - Cen:Dic PA 2365.E5 CA71 1968
- Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
- Dictionary of ancient history - Cen:Books DE 5.DJ21
- Dictionary of Art (Grove) 1996 - Cen:Ref N 31.DJ19
- Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines - Cen:Ref PA 99.WE55 2003
- Dictionary of classical mythology 1998 - Cen:Ref BL 715.M958
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece - Cen:Ref DF16.EJ7
- Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic tradition - Cen:Ref DF 757.EJ7
- Guide to research in classical art and mythology - Cen:Ref N 85.V619
- Lempriere's classical dictionary 1994 - Cen:Ref DE 5.LJ45 1994
- Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae - Cen:Ref N 7760.LN66
- Oxford classical dictionary 2003 - Cen:Ref DE 5.OZ5 2003 or use the electronic version
- Oxford companion to classical civilization - Cen:Ref DE 5.OZ5 1998 and link to online edition.
- Oxford dictionary of classical myth and religion - Cen:Books BL 722.OZ5
- Past worlds. The Times atlas of archaeology - Cen:Atlas G 1046.E15 P3
- Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary
- Thesaurus linguae graecae: canon of Greek authors & works - Cen:Books
PA 3051.ZB47 1990
- Who was who in the Greek world - Cen:Ref DF 206.WL67
^ Top of page
Special Collections
^ Top of page
Web sites
- (Abridged) Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) - A representative selection of TLG texts that will satisfy the needs of the students and non-experts wishing to study Greek.
- Ancient World Mapping Centre - An excellent general resource for both students and scholars.
- Archnet - From the Archaeological
Research Institute based at Arizona State University - internet resources
by region and subject. Includes classical archaeology, institutions,
schools and museums.
- Bibliotheca Selecta Classica (BSC) - French-language bibliographical guide to Classics resources (bibliographies, source books, research tools, Web resources).
- Library
of Congress Classics - Classics and related disciplines (Medieval
Studies, Renaissance Studies, Patristics, etc.)
- Perseus Digital Library
- Tufts University - funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities,
the National Science Foundation and others.
- Internet Classics archive -
Award-winning, searchable collection of almost 400 classical Greek and
Roman texts (in English translation) with user-provided commentary.
- Stoa - A repository of geographic
coordinates for sites, features, objects, routes, etc. of the ancient
world. Includes Diotima, materials for the study of women and gender
in the ancient world.
- University of Otago: Dept
of Classics
^ Top of page
Last revised:
5 March, 2010
|