University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Chemistry

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationAmerican Chemical Society Journals
Peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
Further informationInspec (Web of Knowledge)
Includes over 5 million citations from international journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports and books covering electronics, communications, physics, computing and information technology. Subjects: Electronics, Physics, Information Technology
Further informationPharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)
Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Chemistry databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Ashford's dictionary of industrial chemicals - Sci:Q Ref TP/9/AT58/2001
  • Dictionary of Chemistry: Oxford Reference Online
  • Dictionary of natural products - Sci:Ref QD/415/A25/DJ21
  • Dictionary of organometallic compounds - Sci:Ref QD/411/DJ21/1995

Encyclopedias

Handbooks and manuals

  • ACS Style guide 3rd ed - Sci:Ref QD/8.5/A156/2006
  • Aldrich handbook of fine chemicals - Sci:Q Ref TP/202/AB55/2007/08
  • Aldrich Library of 13C & 1H FT NMR spectra - Sci:Ref QC/462.85/AB55
  • The Beilstein guide: a manual for the use ... - Sci:Ref QD/251/B43/WD75
  • Beisteins handbuch der organischen chemie - Sci:Ref QD/251/BD41/1918
  • CRC handbook of chemistry and physics ed.87 - Sci:Q Ref QD/65/CG71/2006
  • Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals - Sci:Q Ref TD/196/)73/VJ47/2001
  • Hazardous chemicals desk reference 5th ed - Sci:Ref T/55.3/H3/LN51
  • Lange’s handbook of chemistry 15th ed – Sci:Ref QD/65/L839/1999
  • Merck Index 13th ed - Sci:Q Ref QV/13/MJ24/2001
  • Official methods of analysis 17th ed - Sci:Q Ref QD/78/OA2
  • Polymer handbook - Sci:Ref QD/388/PS353/1999
  • Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 13 January, 2009