University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Botany

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Public accessAgricola
The catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
Further informationBiological Sciences (ProQuest)
This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
Further informationZoological Record (Web of Knowledge)
Provides comprehensive coverage of zoological literature from 6,500+ international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports.

Additional Botany databases and resources

^ Top of page

E-Journals & journals

Check Catalogue for details of holdings and locations
(some early volumes may be held in Storage)

^ Top of page

Reference

Dictionaries

  • Cambridge illustrated glossary of botanical terms - Sci:Ref QK/10/HL662
  • CRC World dictionary of plant names - Sci:Ref QK/13/Q2
  • Dictionary of horticulture - Sci:Ref SB/45/DJ22/1996
  • A dictionary of Maori plant names - Sci:Ref QK/46.3/BD16
  • Dictionary of plant virology - Sci:Ref QR/351/BN87
  • Dictionary of the fungi 9th ed. - Sci:Ref QK/600.35/A932/2001
  • Oxford dictionary of ecology - Sci:Ref QH/540.4/CQ78/1998
  • Plant identification terminology - Sci:Ref QK/9/H955
  • The Plantbook: a portable dictionary of the vascular plants - Sci:Ref QK/11/M243/1997
  • Plants and their names - Sci:Q Ref QK/96/HZ716

Encyclopedias

  • Cornucopia II; a sourcebook of edible plants - Sci:Ref SB/175/F347/1998
  • Encyclopedia of herbs and their uses - Sci:Ref SB/351/H5/BS52/1995
  • Encyclopedia of plant pathology - Sci:Ref SB/728/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of the biosphere - Sci:Ref QH/343.4/BL24

Handbooks and manuals

  • Australian plants names index - Sci:Ref QK/431/CF16
  • CRC Ethnobotany desk reference - Sci:Ref GN/476.73/JP42
  • Current names for wild plants in New Zealand - Sci:Ref QK/463/P8242
  • Flora of New Zealand - Sci:Ref QK/463/AD25
  • Guide to information sources in the botanical sciences - Sci:Ref QK/45.2/ZD38/1996
  • Index of mosses 1963-1989 - Sci:Ref QK/538/CY12
  • Manual of New Zealand flora - Sci:Ref QK/463/CG63/1925
  • New Zealand lichens - Sci:Ref QK/593.5/M7196/1997

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

Last revised: 26 November, 2008