University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Melanie Remy
Tel 03 479 7486
Email melanie.remy
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Biochemistry

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationBiological Sciences (ProQuest)
This interdisciplinary database provides access to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications include serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Further informationBIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Comprehensive, international life sciences content with cited references.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationMedline (ProQuest)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (CAS)
First time users must register for web version (see below). A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Client version available in Science and Medical Libraries. Due to increasing popularity and significant new developments in the web version of SciFinder, CAS is to discontinue the client version of SciFinder on 31 December 2011.
Further informationSciFinder Scholar (registration)
First-time users must register for the web version at this site before following the link in the above record.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Biochemistry databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference tools

Dictionaries

  • Biotechnology from A to Z 3rd ed. - Sci:Ref TP/248.16/B439/2004
  • A dictionary of genetics 6th ed - Sci:Ref QH/427/KH9/2002
  • Dictionary of natural products - Sci:Ref QD/415/A25/DJ21
  • Facts on file: Dictionary of Biotechnology & genetic engineering - Sci:Ref TP/248.16/ST393/2001
  • Glossary of biotechnology terms 2nd ed. - Sci:Ref TP/248.16/NP55/1998
  • Williams dictionary of biomaterials - Sci:Q Ref QT/37/WP89

Encyclopedias

  • Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology - Sci:Ref QP/512/CQ78/1997
  • Encyclopedia of chemical technology - Sci:Q Ref TP/9/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of genetics - Sci:Ref QH/427/EJ9
  • Encyclopedia of human nutrition - Sci:Q Ref QP/141/EJ76
  • Encyclopedia of molecular biology - Sci:Ref QH/506/EJ5
  • Encyclopedia of reproduction - Sci:Ref QP/251/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of the human genome - Sci:Ref QH/447/N878
  • Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders - Sci:Ref QH/431/G391
  • Keywords and concepts in evolutionary developmental biology - Sci:Ref QH/491/KE4
  • Mendelian inheritance in man - Sci:Ref QZ/50/ZM3/1992
  • Molecular biology Labfax recombinant DNA - Sci:Ref QH/506/BV74/1998

Handbooks and manuals

  • Biochemicals and Reagents for life science research 2002-2003 - Sci:Q Ref TP/247/A1/S52
  • Biotechnology directory 2000 - Sci:Q Ref TP/248.17/BL24
  • CRC Desk reference for nutrition - Sci:Ref QP/141/BF862
  • Laboratory techniques in biochemistry and molecular biology - Sci:Ref QD/415.5/L282
  • Merck index - Sci:Q Ref QV/13/MJ24/2001
  • Molecular biology and biotechnology; a comprehensive desk reference - Sci:Q Ref QH/506/MP7753
  • Products for life science research 2000-2001 - Sci:Q Ref TP/202/SK12

Guides to the literature and research

  • Current research in Britain: Biological sciences - Sci:Ref QH/320/G7/CZ16

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

 

Last revised: 26 November, 2008