University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Charlotte Brown
Tel 03 479 8976
Email charlotte.brown
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Art History & Theory

On this page

Other resources

Databases & indexes

Further informationAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Further informationArt Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive resource for art information with indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984.
Public accessArt Project
A Google project that allows users to explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Further informationARTstor Digital Library
The current version of ARTstor supports the following browsers: IE 7.0+ ; Firefox 3.0+; Safari 3.0+. A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Public accessBibliography of the History of Art
An online bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. BHA on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
Further informationINZART (Index to New Zealand Art) (New Zealand Index)
An index to articles which provide information on New Zealand artists, art galleries and museums, exhibitions and art events. Details of images and illustrations are also included. INZART indexes from New Zealand and international serials held predominantly in the University of Auckland Fine Arts Library. Art-related articles published in New Zealand newspapers are also selectively indexed.
Further informationJSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscription includes access to the Life Sciences Collection, Business III and the Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX.
Further informationOxford Art Online
Covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide – from prehistory to the present day. Over 5,000 art images and line drawings with links to more. Includes: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (all fully cross-searchable).
Further informationProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

Additional Art History databases and resources

^ Top of page

Photographic image databases

New Zealand

International

^ Top of page

Reference

Biographical

  • Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists - Cen:Ref N/6512/CY86/1994
  • Dictionary of Russian & Soviet Artists 1420-1970 - Cen:Ref N/6998/MM86
  • Dictionary of Women Artists - Cen:Ref N/8354/DJ21

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

  • Concise Encyclopedia of Symbolism - Cen:Ref NX/600/S95
  • Encyclopedia of Interior Design - Cen:Ref NK/1704/B616
  • Enc. of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art - Cen:Ref N/6370/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of comparative iconography - Cen:Ref N/7560/EJ7
  • Encyclopedia of sculpture - Cen:Ref NB/198/EJ7

^ Top of page

Newspapers

Good for reviews, art trends and contemporary criticism.
New York Times (with index)

Cen:Mfm 65/N 1975+

1996+
Otago Daily Times

Cen:Mfm 65/O

1997+
Times (London) (with index)

Cen:Mfm 5/65/T

1785+
Times Literary Supplement Cen:Mfm 65/T 1902-1968

Times Literary Supplement (print)

Cen:Jnl Z/1035/A1/T55

Current 3 years

^ Top of page

Web sites

 

 

Last revised: 9 December, 2009