University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals/E-Books

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Sue Weddell
Tel 03 479 7407
Email sue.weddell
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Anatomy

On this page

Other resources

 

Databases & indexes

Further informationCurrent Contents Connect (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and book.
Further informatione-Anatomy
Atlas of human anatomy: cross-sectional anatomy, gross anatomy, radiological anatomy. Provides medical imaging and pictures of head and neck, thorax abdomen and pelvis, limbs, and spine.
Further informationEMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OvidSP)
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Further informationMedline (OvidSP)
This bibliographic database is recognised as the premier resource covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Further informationPubMed
An online citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Further informationScienceDirect
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Further informationToxline (ProQuest)
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Further informationWeb of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Additional Anatomy databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reserve

  • Atlas of human anatomy / Netter 1997 - Med:Res QS 17.N474 1997
  • Interactive atlas of human anatomy / Netter - Med:Res CD-Rom 10006
  • Molecular cell biology / Lodish 2000 - Med:Res QH 581.2.MS74 2000
  • Wheater's functional histology / Young 2000 - Med:Res QS 504.B959 2000

^ Top of page

Reference

  • General dictionaries - Med:Ref PC to Med Ref PG
  • Dictionary of anatomical eponyms - Med:Ref QS 13.OL79 1995
  • Illustrated encyclopedia of human histology - Med:Ref QS 13.K94 1984
  • Medical dictionaries / encyclopaedias - Med:Ref W 13
  • Manual for human dissection - Med:Ref QS 130.CB54
  • Nomina anatomica - Med:Ref QS 15.I61 1989
  • Oxford dictionary of biology - Med:Ref QH 302.5.DM93

^ Top of page

Historical collection

The Medical Library has a historically significant collection of anatomy books and manuscripts which once belong to the Monro dynasty of Professors of Anatomy at the University of Edinburgh during the 18th and 19th centuries. These include a second edition (1555) of Vesalius: Humani Corporis Fabrica.

^ Top of page

Web sites

Last revised: 6 May, 2010