University of Otago Library Catalogue | Exam Papers | Hours | Subject Guides
Research

Catalogue

Citation Styles

E-Journals

Search the web

Special Collections

Subject Guides

Quicklinks

Article databases

Catalogue

Group Rooms

Research

Services

Libraries

Staff

Subject Specialist

Thelma Fisher
Tel 03 479 9020
Email thelma.fisher
@otago.ac.nz

Database key

Further information about the database Further information

This database is accessible to the public Public database

Trial database Trial database

Site Search

Accountancy & Business Law

On this page

Other resources

Databases & indexes

Further informationAudit Analytics
Audit Analytics is accessible via a registered email address/password combination. To request access, send an email from your "otago.ac.nz" email address to: thardy@ivesinc.com. Access detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms.
Further informationBloomberg
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. A leading global provider of data, news and analytical information. It provides both real-time and archived financial and market data, pricing, trading, news and communication tools in a single, integrated package.
Further informationBusiness Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Full text journal coverage in all disciplines of business, including: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Further informationCompustat Global Data (Standard & Poor's)
Access via Compustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight interface. Provides international data from the last 20 years of annual and the last 12 years of semiannual fundamental data on active and inactive global companies. Also provides the last 20 years of monthly price history on active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCompustat North America Data/Price History (Standard & Poor's)
Access via Compustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight interface. Provides access to the last 20 years of annual and the last 12 years of quarterly data on active and inactive U.S. and Canadian companies. Also provides access to the last 10 years of daily and the last 20 years of monthly price history on active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCompustat Standard & Poor's Research Insight
An analytical software interface used to access Compustat North America Data/Price History, Compustat Global Data and additional Back Data files for North America Data. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCRSP US Stock Database (Centre for Research in Security Prices)
Access via CRSPSift interface. Contains stock history back to 1925 with daily and monthly data on all listed NYSE, AMEX, NYSE Amex US, NASDAQ, and NYSE ARCA common stocks along with basic market indices. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationCRSP/Compustat Merged Database (CCM)
Access via CRSPSift interface. Provides concurrent database access to CRSP's stock data and Compustat's fundamental data for active and inactive companies. For help accessing this database please email: ask.library@otago.ac.nz
Further informationdirectEDGAR
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. Designed specifically for academic researchers trying to find and collect data from SEC (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) filings.
Further informationEmerald
The Emerald Management Extra (EMX) collection includes more than 200 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals. Also included is access to the Emerald Backfiles - the full digitized archive of Emerald journal titles in business, management, library and information services, materials sciences and engineering.
Further informationEventus
This resource is available through Department of Accountancy and Finance. Please contact the department for access information. Eventus provides event-orientated data retrieval and performs event study estimation and testing using the CRSP stock database.
Further informationFactiva
Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
Further informationInternational Financial Statistics Online (IMF)
Select IFS as Data source. International statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Further informationNZX Company Research (formerly Datex)
Lists New Zealand company information and provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data.
Further informationOSIRIS (Global Quoted Companies)
Browser must allow pop-ups. A comprehensive database of 46,000 listed companies from 190 countries. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement and ratios, it contains a wide range of complementary information such as ownership, subsidiaries, and ratings. Also contains SEC (Edgar) filings and Global Reports.
Further informationProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Further informationScopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Public accessSocial Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.

Additional Accountancy databases and resources

^ Top of page

Reference tools

^ Top of page

Books and guides

Accounting standards

Taxation guides

  • New Zealand Current Taxation - Law:KM 335.BZ58 Suppl
  • New Zealand Master Tax Guide - Cen: KM 337.1.CQ438
  • New Zealand Tax Legislation for Students - Cen: KM 337.1.NH337 1999

^ Top of page

 

Statistics

  • Europa World Yearbook - Cen:Ref D 839.E85
  • Far East and Australasia: a Survey & Directory - Cen:Ref DS 1.F3
  • International Financial Statistics - Cen:Jnl HG 3881.I571
  • Key Statistics (NZ) - Cen:Ref 3T5ws
  • Main Economic Indicators (OECD) - Cen:Jnl HC 10.M24
  • New Zealand official yearbook / Statistics New Zealand - Cen:Ref 3T5w

^ Top of page

 

Share prices & stock exchanges

Newspapers are also useful for share price information.

 

^ Top of page

Web resources

General sites

 

New Zealand sites

 

New Zealand investment information

 

 

Last revised: 24 February, 2010